Memorial Day Weekend – Sunday

Since we had plans early in the morning, we all woke up a bit earlier and met for a quick breakfast in the Library Cafe.

We made our way to the Zoo afterwards so that we could try to beat the heat and the crowds.

zoo sign

We had a great time seeing all the animals, feeding the giraffes, riding the carousel, taking in the butterfly house, and riding the Brackenridge train.

zoo col

For lunch, we visited the Bombay Bicycle Bar – a hot spot from John’s college days. Everyone had burgers while I had a chicken finger basket. Eh, my food was only so-so. In fact, when I look at this picture, I wonder what I was thinking when I ordered. Ha!

bombay lunch

After lunch, it was nap time again, and I passed out before anyone else. I slept for 2.5 hours and it was amazing.

We met my parents at St Mary’s Catholic Church for an early evening mass, then had dinner at Acenar.

dinner

Acenar is a sister restaurant to Rosario’s and the food was terrific. I had the chicken tortilla soup and it was just what I needed. The skies opened up just as we walked back to the hotel. It was one of the worst rain storms I have seen in years, and I was thrilled to be watching it from my room (and in my pajamas).

Leave a Reply

