Memorial Day Weekend – Friday

A few months ago, we decided we wanted to take a little trip for Memorial Day Weekend. After batting around a few ideas, we ended up selecting San Antonio as our destination. We also invited my parents to join us. Our main goals of the trip were to relax, eat good food, explore cultural activities/sites, and to spend time together as a family.

Mission Accomplished! I’m so glad we took this trip together because it was a great way to do some exploring and to spend time together as a family. Also, John and I have been crazy busy with work, so it was really nice to have quality family time.

Friday

John and I woke up early to pack and to prep for our road trip. While John drove to the cleaners, I woke up George and took him to Best Donuts to pick up some breakfast treats. We dropped some goodies off for my parents (they were staying at Julie’s place over night), then returned home to get G dressed and to load the car.

Once we were set and ready, we began the drive to San Antonio. Everyone ate their breakfast on the drive. The roads were clear and the drive was super easy. I participated in a few conference calls on the way and of course, we made a pit stop at Buc-ee’s.

Once we made it to San Antonio, we made a beeline to Rosario’s where we met my parents for an amazing lunch.

Ros Menu

Rosario’s has amazing Mexican food and I was so excited to be back there. Specifically, I was thrilled to inhale the legendary smoky salsa and to chomp their crispy chips.

Ro Salsa

For my entree, I enjoyed the fideo soup – which is to die for, friends. The combination of cumin, cilantro, pasilla chile, onion, queso fresco and fideo noodles is not to be missed.

Ros Fid

After lunch, we drove over to Trinity University for a quick visit.

Trin

John went to school at Trinity, and played soccer there, so it was a treat for him to be back on campus.

Trin Walk

We explored the campus and made an obligatory stop at the bookstore.

Trin Tow

After our visit, we made the quick trip back to downtown and checked into the fabulous St Anthony Hotel. We were treated like royalty and both of my rooms were upgraded to suites. Score!

We quickly unpacked in our rooms to get settled. While I handled George’s nap duties, John and my parents did some exploring in the hotel and surrounding area.

After a few hours, G was up and we made our way to the Riverwalk.

Fri Riverwalk

We did some exploring with George before walking over to Paesanos for dinner. We sat outside facing the historic Riverwalk and dined on delicious Italian fare.

Fri Mimi and G

I had the Parmesan crusted chicken and it was everything. I am a huge fan of caper, lemon,and butter sauce, so this was exactly what my soul needed.

Fri Din

Post-dinner, we walked to a nearby Ben and Jerry’s to treat everyone to ice cream. I had the infamous Phish Food – so delicious.

Fri iC

After a bit more walking, John and I took G back to the hotel for bath and bed time and my parents hit the town for more fun and exploration.

Leave a Reply

