Zoo Lights 2016

Friends, after years of saying that I wanted to go see the Houston Zoo Lights, we finally went this year.

trees

But first, let’s back up to Thursday morning…

We had a really leisurely morning around the house. After breakfast, George and I walked over to our nearby HEB to pick up a few grocery items. When we returned home, we made some dip for this week’s party(!), then walked to our neighborhood park for an hour of fun.

park

Once G was worn out, the two of us drove over to Bellaire Broiler Burger for lunch. G had a hot dog and fries and we ended up sharing my (fabulous) chicken tender basket.

lunch

George loves gravy more than I do and he was excited to dip all-the-things in our gravy.

dip

After lunch, we made a quick stop at CVS to pick up some health items for our upcoming trip(!). I’m really feeling CVS lately and love their diversity of products. I also love the stocking stuffer potential of so many of their items.

Later, we met John at home and G wouldn’t nap. While John and G played nap wars, I tidied up the house. I ended up getting G to take a power mid-afternoon nap before we made our way to Hermann Park.

nap

We met my parents at the Houston Museum of Natural Science and did a quick whirl around the Cockrell Butterfly exhibit. Afterwards, we enjoyed a nice stroll through the park as we made our way to get in line for entry into the Zoo.

We purchased our tickets online, yet still had to wait in a very long line to get in. Fortunately, it only took about 15 minutes to make it onto the Zoo property.

line

And once we were there, oh holy lights!

g-with-mimi

The Zoo Lights were amazing and I am so glad we went. We had a great time seeing the Zoo in a new light or two (lame jokes – someone stop me now), despite the sometimes crowded walking paths.

aqua

We ended up eating dinner at the Zoo because it was very convenient. We split a pepperoni pizza and G had a bagel dog and chips (and pizza – and yes, my child had two hot dogs in one day!). Our pizza was light years better than expected – the crust and toppings were fresh and the pizza was made while we waited.

g-texas

Traffic was pretty gnarly when we left the Zoo. Although it was somewhat of an evening schedule disruption for us, I am so glad we made our way to Hermann Park early and enjoyed an early evening experience of the Zoo Lights.

g-with-mom

Needless to say, George passed out when we got home. Okay…and maybe I did too.

Thursday was another fun family day and I am grateful for all of our experiences.

Leave a Reply

