Napa – Saturday

Thanks to our late night eating experience, we slept in on Saturday morning. I had no real desire to eat breakfast at that time, so my egg frittata, croissant, and fruit from room service went largely untouched that morning.

After a leisurely morning, we walked over to the spa at our hotel for 75-minute massages.

spa grounds

My massage was great until my therapist began rubbing her oils into my hair and scalp. Let me tell you friends, this is a major pet peeve of mine. Most high-end spas with professional therapists will not do this without asking because most people have things to do post-spa and don’t want greasy hair. We had plans after our appointments and I had no intention of washing and drying my hair before then. Needless to stay, I made a beeline to the room after our treatments and had to wash my hair three times to get all of the oil out. My therapist did a number on me, friends. Blerg.

 us spa

For lunch, we made our way downtown and ate lunch at Oenotri. Oenotri came highly recommended and their specialty is wood-fired pizza. After sharing a large spring mix salad, we shared a sausage and arugula pizza and and a margarita pizza. Wow, these were great. The ingredients were very fresh and the crust was fluffy and flavorful.

O Collage

After lunch, we got on the St. Helena Highway to do some exploring. Because Napa is at the southern most point of Napa Valley, we decided to drive all the way up to Calistoga to see more of the vistas and to broaden our experience.

 wine sign

During the drive, we made a detour at the Twomey winery, per the suggestion of our tour guide at the Jarvis winery. The wines did not disappoint. We did a tasting of a Sauvignon Blanc, four Pinot Noirs and a merlot. Because we can find most of these at Spec’s in Houston, we did not purchase bottles of our favorites with the intent of shipping them home. We had an enjoyable experience there and our tasting coordinator gifted us with a pair of really cool wine glasses as a gift.

 twomey glass

We continued the drive to Calistoga and really enjoyed the scenery. We briefly explored Calistoga before getting back on the Silverado Trail and heading South. Against the advice of my wine-expert girlfriend, we stopped at the Mumm Napa winery. She warned me that it was a commercial zoo and I should have listened to her. We waited in line to be seated for a tasting, but we left because customer service was horrible. Also, although I love kids and George, I didn’t want to sit and drink with kids and babies running around. To each their own, but I prefer the more intimate and adult-oriented experiences that we had at Twomey, Opus One and Jarvis.

 mumm

We decided to stop by Bouchon Bakery in Yountville to pick up an afternoon snack and to pick up some goodies for my parents (who watched George while we were away). I ended up getting an iced tea and an infamous TKO cookie. So good. Once we returned to our hotel room, I ended up taking a two-hour nap. So dreamy.

 b Collage

For dinner, we went back to downtown Napa to done at Morimoto. Owned and operated by IronChef Morimoto, this was an opportunity for John to eat sushi and sashimi. I chose the infamous chicken ramen soup for my entree. While our food was delicious, the environment was completely off. The restaurant had more of a large touristy vibe, instead of a more intimate and warm space that we had experienced on Thursday and Friday nights.

mCollage

We also enjoyed fresh gelato at Frati – a quick walk down the Napa Boardwalk from Morimoto.

 gelato

After dinner and dessert, we returned to the hotel and enjoyed a very leisurely evening in on our last night in Napa.

Leave a Reply

