Welcoming Summer

Memorial Day has long been considered the kick-off to the summer season, and things were no different this year.

Friday

George was off from school on Friday and John and I both had short work days. We all spent the day at home, playing, relaxing, working and organizing. During the day, George and I took a long walk on the morning and visited a nearby toy store, then made a visit to a neighboring grocery store. We picked up a new toy, some books, and some groceries. We also took a glorious two hour nap together. Our evening was very rainy, so we stayed home and I made soup for dinner. We had a cozy, relaxing night in.

Fri walk

Saturday

George and I slept in on Saturday morning, while John did some yard work. Once all of us were up, I made eggs, sausage, and biscuits for breakfast.

Sat breakfast

Afterwards, we got ready and set out for errands at Home Depot, Goodwill, Bed Bath and Beyond, and the cleaners. We also went to Little Gym to celebrate the end of the Spring Session. George had a great time tumbling and playing with friends.

LG Collage

We lunched at Bellaire Broiler Burger before nap time. While John managed the beginning of nap time, I got a pedicure, then did a quick Whole Foods and CVS run. Later, I laid down with George during the second half of his nap. I didn’t plan on sleeping, but I did manage to get an hour snooze. G is still taking 3 hour naps – they are great for everyone.

We kept it very casual post-nap and did some playing, cleaning, organizing and relaxing. We had leftovers for dinner and ice cream for dessert. I took George on a long walk after dinner while John did some relaxing at home. I did a little bit of work while John helped G settle into bedtime. I was in bed by 9:00PM and couldn’t have been happier.

Sunday

John was up at 5:00AM, but George and I both slept until 7:30AM. Oh, how I love good sleep! We had a quick breakfast of fruit and leftover cinnamon rolls before getting ready and heading to the Houston Zoo. We met the Hunters and Rosenbergs for a morning full of animals, snacks, laughs, and a ride on the carousel.

zoo Collage

Later, we met up with my parents (who has just returned from a week-long cruise!) for lunch at Barnaby’s. All the kiddos were so sleepy from a fun morning, and we had to work to keep George awake until we got home. Once G was down for a nap, I ran to HEB for a quick grocery store run to stock up on goodies for a family lunch on Monday. When I returned, I crashed on the couch for an hour, the watched Law and Order until George woke up.

relax

We spent the rest of the afternoon playing and George helped me make a cake. George loves helping me in the kitchen and he also helped me make a gumbo for dinner. George and I continued our evening routine and took a long walk before returning for bath and bedtime.

Monday

We all slept really well and woke up earlyish on Monday. I prepared homemade waffles, bacon and fruit for breakfast, and no one was happier than George. He loves syrup! Afterwards, George and I cleaned indoors while John worked in the yard. Before we knew it, it was lunchtime and my family began arriving for a Memorial Day luncheon. We had a hot dog bar with 7 layer dip, fries, fruit salads, chips and lots of condiments. We also had cake and ice cream for dessert. I am so lucky to be able to spend so much quality time with my family.

fam

George went down for a nap after everyone left. While he snoozed, I tackled his laundry and organized his room and playroom. After a while, I snuck down to check on G and ended up snuggling with him for an hour.

g naps

Later in the afternoon, George helped me make gumbo for dinner. Post-dinner, we enjoyed a long walk around the neighborhood before bath and bedtime.

 We had a fabulously relaxing weekend. I hope you enjoyed yours too.

Leave a Reply

