George – 19 Months

Timeline: As of today, George is 19 months old!

G and J_slide

How We’re Feeling: Although we have had a very healthy and happy past nineteen months, we have some unhappy news to report…Our dear George has a confirmed peanut allergy. After I noticed that George had multiple mild reactions to peanut butter in months past, we met with a pediatric allergist to confirm my suspicions. We hope that George will eventually grow out of this allergy, but for now we are armed with an Epi-Pen.

How George is Changing: George weighed in at 21.7 pounds at last month’s 18 month doctor’s visit and was 32 inches long. We think George is going through a growth spurt because he is noticeably taller and heavier. George is exclusively wearing 18-24 month sized clothing these days.

G whale

George still gets breast milk at meal times in his sippy cups, but my freezer stash has dwindled to just a few 4.5 ounce bags. I am so sad to see my freezer supply on its last legs, but I am so proud of how far we have come on this journey.

George continues to be a great eater and is currently loving honeydew melon, cantaloupe, beans, macaroni and watermelon. George has also grown quite fond of sparkling water.

G spaghetti

George is still developing quite the vocabulary, but I have lost count of all of his new words and phrases. My favorite new words of his, however, are: “Beep-Beep” and “G-G (as he points to himself).” George is still very, very talkative these days and remains curious about words and sounds. Naturally, we have to exercise caution when speaking around G these days.

We still haven’t seen “new teeth.” Hallelujah! We are currently still holding at sixteen teeth and George had his first pediatric dental appointment this month.  George was scared initially, but he did a great job in the doctor’s office. Dr. Moon saw no signs of George’s molars and she thinks they will debut over the course of the rest of the year.

George is still sleeping 10 to 11.5 hours straight at night and 2 to 3 hours during the day in his crib. He occasionally wakes up in the middle of the night, but George is generally a great sleeper.

How I’m Changing (Body After Baby): I am down 85 pounds and feeling great.  More on this topic later. I have lots to share here!

How I’m Staying Active: Running, walking and light strength training are still my exercise of choice these days. I’m doing a new-to-me strength training program and hope to detail it in a blog post soon.

What’s Keeping Me Busy: In addition to being a Mom, I am still working full-time (from home) and am traveling significantly for work these days. However, I am blessed to be able to see George when I work from home, and I take full advantage of this perk as much as I can. As such, I try to have lunch with George as much as possible. I have also been very active socially (having more lunches and outings with friends), and have been busy planning and organizing upcoming family trips and holiday activities.

What’s New with George: It seems like everything is new with George.  He seems very independent these days and I couldn’t be more proud.  George has started playing with chalk…and he’s in love.

G draws

George has also been really active in his Little Gym classes. We are all still having such a great time in them.

G at Gym

George is a huge fan of the outdoors and spends at least two hours a day playing in our neighborhood park with his nanny during the week, and on weekends with us. I also walk George for at least 45 minutes in the morning, and we also try to walk in the evenings (as a family) before bath/bedtime.

G toes on Walk

What’s New at Cliffwood: I promise to get my act together soon and to put together a post on this. There is a lot happening on the home-front, but I don’t want to jinx anything.  I will be less mysterious soon! And no…I am not expecting!

The Nursery: No update here, but I can’t imagine we will have one until George moves into a toddler bed (wait…what?!).

George – 19 months old

G in stroller_New Do

Leave a Reply

