George – 17 Months

Timeline: As of yesterday, George is 17 months old.

G in swing

How We’re Feeling: We remain incredibly blessed — George, John and I are still very happy and healthy. We have had a very healthy and happy past seventeen months. Amen!

How George is Changing: George weighed in at 21 pounds the last time we were at the doctor’s office (December), and he weighed between 22 and 23 pounds last month. I’m not sure how much he weighs this month, but little G is clearly getting heavier and longer. George is mostly wearing 12-18 month size clothing, but 18-24 month sized clothes fit him much better. We are looking forward to getting new “official” stats at next month’s 18-month doctor visit.

It’s official — George has been weaned! We opted for a very slow weaning process…and it worked for the both us. I still have quite the freezer full of breast milk, so George will continue to get this at meal times in his sippy cups. I can’t believe I breastfed George for almost 17 months, but I am very glad that I did. George continues to be a great eater and is currently loving honey-dew melon, soups (especially broccoli and cheese) and carrots.

G with drinks

George is developing quite the vocabulary. His newest words and phrases are:

  • Purple
  • Green
  • Red
  • Moo
  • Hoo Hoo (sound an owl makes)
  • More
  • There it is
  • Thank You
  • Star
  • Bye, Momma
  • Bye, Dadda

George is very, very talkative these days and remains curious about words and sounds. He is quite the sponge as of late.

George took his first steps in November (at 13 months old) and he hasn’t slowed down since. George likes to run around the house now. It’s amazing quickly his motor skills have developed and improved.

This is the first month in many where we haven’t seen “new teeth.”Hallelujah! We are currently still holding at sixteen teeth.

George is still sleeping 10 to 11.5 hours straight at night and 2 to 3 hours during the day in his crib. He occasionally wakes up in the middle of the night, but George is generally a great sleeper.

George also loves to unload and load my Tupperware drawer in the kitchen.  He does this “chore” every day!

G and tupperware

How I’m Changing (Body After Baby): I am down 83 pounds and feeling great. That’s right — I have lost all the baby weight + 14 pounds. However, I am in the midst of cleaning up my diet. Since I am no longer nursing, and burning bonus calories, I need to pay very close attention to what I am eating. More on this topic later.

How I’m Staying Active: Running, walking and light strength training are still my exercise of choice these days. I recently purchased T25 and have incorporated it into my routine.  Now that half-marathon training is behind me for the Spring season, I decided it was time to switch things up. Also, I try to run with G in the BOB stroller as much as possible — we both like it very much!

G in stroller

What’s Keeping Me Busy: In addition to being a Mom, I am still working full-time (from home) and am traveling significantly for work these days. I took 8 round-trip flights last month for 8+ multi-day business trips and I very ready for my travel to slow down. However, I am blessed to be able to see George when I want when I work from home, and I take full advantage of this perk.  I have also been more active socially, having more lunches and outings with friends, and have been busy planning and organizing upcoming family trips and holiday activities.

What’s New with George: George still loves his walks and the outdoors. We have recently ventured into our neighborhood sand volleyball court…and George loves it!

G in sand box

More than anything, little G loves to throw sand everywhere. George still loves books and asks us to read to him all day long. He also loves to brush his teeth!

G reads

What’s New at Cliffwood: I promise to get my act together soon and to put together a post on this. There is a lot happening on the home-front, but I don’t want to jinx anything.  I will be less mysterious soon! And no…I am not expecting!

The Nursery: No update here, but I can’t imagine we will have one until George moves into a toddler bed (wait…what?!).

George – 17 months old

G oatmeal

Leave a Reply

