Favorite Things Weekend

If your December weekends are anything like mine, then your life is crazy right now. Am I right?

I kicked off last weekend by driving to Baytown for the annual “Favorite Things Party.” With George under the care of my parents, I was able to enjoy a fun night of food, gift opening and good times. Like last year, I was impressed by the creativity of my friends – both in the kitchen and in the gift-giving departments. The way this party works is simple – you bring your “favorite thing” for all the party goers and you receive their “favorite things.” This year, there were 15 women and 15 “favorite things.” My “favorite thing” this year was a candle from Anthropologie and the 14 gifts I received included a scarf, ring keeper, lotion, makeup remover, a mug and a recipe holder for the kitchen. There was also an unlimited supply of great munchies and drinks at this party, including some very tasty dips. This is hands down one of my favorite holiday parties of the year and I am already looking forward to next year’s celebration!

FT2014 Collage

We spent Saturday at the Little Gym with George, running Holiday errands, wrapping gifts, exercising and decorating our house for the holidays.

On Sunday, we met my parents at the Houston Zoo for George’s first visit. We had such an amazing time!

G Mom and Dad wih cut outs

The Zoo has always been a Cruz family favorite and John and I have been members ever since we moved to Houston in 2006. We had a great time showing George animals that we have to read to him about in books and that he has seen on his toys.

zoo Collage

George seemed really excited about the elephants and giraffes and he could barely contain his excitement when we rode the carousel. Precious moments, indeed.

G on carousel

George lasted a good two hours before he fell asleep and we headed home for nap time. While George napped, we watched the Texans game and devoured a meal that I prepped earlier that morning. We spent the rest of the day working, catching up on house work and finishing up our holiday decorating.

Why do weekends in December pass by so quickly? Please tell me I am not the only one flying by the seat of my pants!?

Leave a Reply

