Body After Baby: 1 Year Later

I intended to do a check-in a few months ago…then a few weeks ago, but time totally got away from me. So, here I am with a check-in a little more than a year after George’s birth. 

WEIGHT

Challenge: I gained 67 pounds during my pregnancy and suffered from edema towards the very end. My weight loss has been slow and steady since then…

  • At six-weeks PP, I was down 30 pounds.
  • At twelve-weeks PP, I was down 40 pounds. 
  • At nineteen-weeks PP, I was down 47 pounds.
  • At thirty-five weeks PP, I was down 62 pounds.
  • A year PP, I am down 79 pounds.

Previous Goal/Progress: My goal was to lose the last 5 pounds by July 9th — marking 9 months post partum. Achieved.

New Goal: Although I have lost all the weight and then some, the weight is distributed very differently than before. I am carrying a bit more weight up top, likely due to breastfeeding, but I am sure things will settle with time. Or, perhaps that is what I am hoping for these days! My new goal is to maintain my weight and to try to be as fit and healthy as possible.

NUTRITION

Challenge: Per my doctor’s orders, I’m still not calorie-restricting or going on a crazy diet. Because calories are needed to create breast milk, the plan has been to eat about 2,000 to 2,200 calories per day. However, I couldn’t tell you how many calories I have been eating lately because I have been way too busy to keep track of these things.

Previous Goal(s)/Progress: My goal was to make healthy food choices (totaling approximately 2,000 to 2,200 calories per day) and to add extra servings of fruits and vegetables to my diet. I also set a goal to increase my water consumption. Achieved. I did really well with these goals, despite not counting calories.

New Goal(s): I plan to continue on the same path with my (approximate) calorie and water goals — I refuse to count calories — both on principle and lack of time to do this. I will try to make as many healthy food and drink choices as possible too.

EXERCISE

Challenge: Finding time to exercise has gotten easier as George has gotten older. However, child-rearing is always time-consuming (but totally worth it!) and it can sometimes be hard to maintain a set schedule. Fortunately, John is a very supportive partner and has pledged his support. I am also very fortunate to have a nanny that helps with George and our family scheduling dynamic. Although I typically get my exercise out of the way in the early morning, it is not unusual for me to occasionally spend my lunch hour at the gym. Now that the weather has cooled off, George and I have been running in the BOB early in the morning before work.  We both love this new shared activity!

stroller2

Previous Goal(s)/Progress: My goal was to run (4 to 5 times per week) and to complete the Runner’s World Running Streak. Achieved.  I also trained for the Houston Half Marathon (pictures below) and successfully completed it earlier this week. I even set a new PR!

New Goal: My new goal is to continue running (4 to 5 times per week) and to consistently incorporate strength training and stretching into my wellness routine. Walking, with George, is also an essential component of this plan.

HHM Collage

1 Year Post Partum: Please pardon the post-workout iPhone selfies…and my continued obsession with stripes!

1y Collage

 

Leave a Reply

