George – 12 Months

Timeline: George turned 12 months old yesterday.  It seems cliche to even mention it, but time has really flown by.

stroller

How We’re Feeling: We remain incredibly blessed — George, John and I are still very happy and healthy. We have had a very healthy past twelve months. Hallelujah!

How George is Changing: George had his 12 month check-up this morning and he weighed in at 19 pounds, 10 ounces and is 29.5 inches long. George is wearing a few 12 month and 9-12 month size clothing, but has generally  moved into the next size up. They also tested George’s iron levels and he is one healthy boy!

We are still breastfeeding, but have begun the weaning process. George still nurses 4 times a day and eats solid foods three times a day. Our Georgie loves to feed himself and is completely over pureed foods. His favorite new solid foods include meatballs, egg, pasta, waffles, mashed potatoes, rice cakes and bread.  Yes, we have a little carb-a-saurus on our hands! I continue to prepare George’s vegetables and proteins in the Beaba Babycook and we all love it! George is also obsessed with using his sippy cup and he loves drinking water. We had to buy a few extra versions of his favorite sippy cup because he “needs” one at all times.

G eating in high chair

In addition to “Mama” and “Dada” and “Bird”and “Duck,”…George also says “No.”

Georgie is still crawling like a champ and is very, very, very speedy. He is also standing and pulling up and we expect to have a walker on our hands at any moment. Since we haven’t completely baby-proofed the house yet, we are fine with George delaying his walking debut for a few more weeks. 

George has seven teeth and has three more teeth coming in. I can’t believe how quickly we went from toothless to toothy grin.

After two months of sleeping on George’s nursery floor, we officially have a crib sleeper! If he wakes up at night, it’s only usually only once and George can quickly be soothed back to sleep. George is now sleeping 10 to 11.5 hours straight at night and 2 to 3 hours during the day. I’m so happy to report that all of this sleeping is done in the crib and that I am back in my very comfortable bed. Whew! Sleep training is no joke, especially when you are a no-pacifier family. Letting George “cry it out” might have made this entire process easier, but my stomach and heart wouldn’t allow it. Despite what my back says, I am totally at peace with our decisions here and am pleased with how everything has worked out. 

G in Crib

How I’m Changing (Body After Baby): I will do a comprehensive update in a few days (Didn’t I promise I would do this already? I am such a tease!), but I am down 76 pounds and feeling great.  That’s right — I have lost all the baby weight + 7 pounds.

How I’m Staying Active: Running, walking, Pilates and light strength training are my exercise of choice these days. I’m loving it!

What’s Keeping Me Busy: In addition to being a Mom, I am still working full-time (from home) and am traveling more and more for work these days. I am blessed to be able to see George whenever I want when I work from home. I have also been more active socially and have been busy planning a few family events (including George’s birthday party) and upcoming trips. I also have a new niece and nephew and take my auntie duties very seriously!

What’s New with George: As I mentioned last month, we joined our neighborhood Little Gym and George LOVES going to class. He is very social and loves interacting with the other kids. George loves to people-watch and has really started to mimic the actions of other babies. We also still take George to our neighborhood park at least once a day because he LOVES being pushed in the swings. Naturally, we LOVE watching him have so much fun. Now that the weather is a tad cooler, we are really enjoying our park visits.

What’s New at Cliffwood: We are still in the midst of a prolonged Winter/Summer cleaning and reorganization. I totally owe you a post on this.

The Nursery: Nothing new to report here! Well…yet. I’ll have more details when I have a complete update on the house. Yes, we are still having work done on Cliffwood.

George – 12 months old

g in chair laugh

Leave a Reply

