Body After Baby: 35 Week Check-in

I intended to do a check-in weeks ago, but time totally got away from me. What else is new?!

George’s thirty-five week birthday is today…so we will just have to do a thirty-five week update won’t we?!  Here’s how I am doing with my post-baby body transformation…

WEIGHT

Challenge: I gained 67 pounds during my pregnancy and suffered from edema towards the very end. My weight loss has been slow and steady…

  • At six-weeks PP, I was down 30 pounds.
  • At twelve-weeks PP, I was down 40 pounds. 
  • At nineteen-weeks PP, I was down 47 pounds.
  • At thirty-five weeks PP, I am down 62 pounds.

Previous Goal/Progress:  If you will recall, my last goal was to lose another 4-6 pounds by March 31st. I ended up meeting my goal. Go, me! All of my pre-pregnancy pants fit really well again, but tops and some dresses are another story. I am not sure these will fit until I am through breastfeeding George. Oh well.

New Goal: I still have another 5 pounds to lose before I am at my pre-pregnancy weight. Therefore, my new goal is to lose the last 5 pounds by July 9th — marking 9 months PPD. I fully realize that this goal may be very difficult to achieve as I get closer and closer to my pre-pregnancy weight. This fact, plus maintaining enough of a supply to continue breastfeeding, will make things nice and challenging. I’m totally up for it!

NUTRITION

Challenge: Per my doctor’s orders, I’m still not calorie-restricting or going on a crazy diet. Because calories are needed to create breast milk, the plan has been to eat about 2,000 to 2,200 calories per day. However, I couldn’t tell you how many calories I have been eating lately because I have been way too busy these past few weeks to keep track of these things.

Previous Goal(s)/Progress: My goal was to make healthy food choices (totaling 2,000 to 2,200 calories per day) and to add extra servings of fruits and vegetables to my diet. I also set a goal to increase my water consumption. I did really well with these goals, despite not counting calories.

New Goal(s): I plan to continue on the same path with my (approximate) calorie and water goals. I’m not sure I will consistently track calories because I still don’t have time for that. For now, I think I’m okay with estimating calories and listening to my body.

EXERCISE

Challenge: Finding time to exercise has gotten a little easier as George has gotten older. However, child-rearing is always time-consuming (but totally worth it!) and it can sometimes be hard to maintain a set schedule. Fortunately, John is a very supportive partner and has pledged his support. I am also very fortunate to have a nanny that helps with George and our family scheduling dynamic. Although I typically get my exercise out of the way in the early morning, it is not unusual for me to occasionally spend my lunch hour at the gym.

Previous Goal(s)/Progress: My goal was to continue running (4 to 5 times per week) and to incorporate regular strength training into my exercise routine. I did really well with this goal. However, I dropped the ball on incorporating yoga back into my life. On the other hand, I have also been walking quite a bit. Given the hot weather in Houston, we try to take George out for walks in the early morning and early evening.  I love spending time with George like this and the steps really seem to add up! Like other FitBit users, I love seeing my steps increase as the day passes.

New Goal: My new goal is to continue running (4 to 5 times per week) and to complete the Runner’s World Running Streak.

35 Weeks Post Partum: Please pardon the post-workout iPhone selfies…and my apparent obsession with stripes!

35 Collage

 

Leave a Reply

