Memorial Day Weekend 2014

We had a really nice Memorial Day Weekend this year and I hope you did too!

We spent some time this weekend thinking, and talking, about our family and friends who have served in the military. It is essential to acknowledge the sacrifices that they, and millions of others, make every day on behalf of our country.

Here’s what our long weekend looked like…

Friday – To our surprise the City of Houston delivered a single-stream recycling container to our house in the morning. Finally! Recycling just got easier at Cliffwood. This is a win-win for us and Mother Earth.

singlestream

Both of my parents had the day off so they came over and my Mom cooked lunch for us. I am totally spoiled! My organization closed our offices two hours early on Friday, so I was able to spend a few more hours than normal with George during the day. We had so much fun playing with his toys and practicing sitting up and trying to crawl. For dinner, we kept things casual and devoured leftovers from lunch. We ended the night with a breezy stroll through the neighborhood. George goes to bed between 8:30 and 9:00 PM now, so bedtime comes early for the two of us. I don’t mind because I need the rest these days.

Saturday – After 10 hours of sleep, George was a happy baby in the morning. We are fortunate to have a good sleeper on our hands. The three of us met up with Julie at the Urban Harvest Eastside Farmer’s Market in the morning to do some shopping. We ended up purchasing some fresh salsa, pimento cheese, carrots, broccoli, peaches, and mint. Since we hadn’t eaten breakfast prior to our visit, John had a taco and we shared an order of the breakfast tostadas and a blackberry lemonade from Shade/Canopy. Delicious! I really love that there are different vendors and products each week – it keeps things interesting. I can definitely see visits to the Market becoming a regular part of our weekend routine. We spent the afternoon cleaning, running errands, napping (George) and playing. I also hit the gym for a quick afternoon run. We went to late afternoon mass, then grilled some sliders and baked some fries for dinner. Dinner casual and perfect. We ended the night with another stroll through the neighborhood. I love ending the day like that – it’s very relaxing and peaceful.

 Market Collage

Sunday – Our Georgie had another great night of sleep – and so did I. For the first time in months, I slept for 7 hours straight. Amen! We kicked the morning off with a long walk through the neighborhood before it got too warm. For breakfast, I made egg and bacon tacos with homemade tortillas from Whole Foods. Perfection! While John worked in the yard, I had play and nap duty with George. I *totally* had the better assignment!

 G on mat

We had another casual day and passed the time playing, napping and running a few errands as a family. I also spent some time cleaning out the freezer, George’s closet and my office closet. I also spent some time updating this blog (much more updating is needed – my apologies). We had another casual dinner and ate leftovers. I’m actually pretty excited about us eating leftovers because we are really trying to mindful about not wasting food.

Monday – George woke up early yesterday and I had my very own personal 6:00 AM wake-up call! I ended up running early in the morning (see my previous post about the running challenge that John and I are doing) then taking care of George while John ran. For breakfast, I made scrambled eggs with GF avocado toast. Heavenly. We spent the rest of the morning playing and napping. My parents, Julie and Ian came over midday for a barbecue. My parents brought grilled sausage, ribs and chicken, I made a GF pasta salad and green beans, and Julie made a cookie ice cream for Ian’s birthday. I really love these pot luck meals because everyone does a little bit of work on the front end, gets to eat as a family, then leaves with enough leftovers for several meals. George loves it because he gets to spend time with family!

 MDW Collage

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. We are incredibly fortunate to live close to family members that we love and get to see so often. I treasure the time I get to spend with my family.

 

Leave a Reply

