Good Friday

John, George and I met my family in Austin this weekend to celebrate Easter (everyone except honeymooners Julie and Ian were there). We took advantage of having the day off and drove up to Austin on Friday morning. Needless to say, George and I had fun in the backseat of the car.

Car Collage

We drove straight to the W Austin only to find that our room wasn’t ready. We were slightly bummed until we found out that the delay was related to an upgrade to a “cool corner suite.” Score! To pass the time, we walked over to Taverna and had a fantastic lunch. I love that Taverna has an extensive gluten free menu, including the Focaccia bread and the corn spaghetti with tomato and basil that I devoured during lunch. Both dishes were delicious and didn’t taste “fake” or very different from the gluten varieties of the same dishes. I was in heaven. So was George who loves to people watch.

Taverna Collage

After lunch, we walked back over to the W and checked in and then headed to St. Mary’s Cathedral for Good Friday mass. We met my family there and enjoyed a beautiful, albeit long, service. John and I used to be parishioners at the Cathedral when we lived in Austin, so it was nice to be back in a familiar place with familiar faces.

Later, we made our way to the Hunter’s home for afternoon/evening festivities. It was nice to hang out with our family – no agenda, no expectations. George loved all the attention that he received and I always love the extra hands. My Mom prepared her classic enchiladas (made with cheese for our meatless observation) and Mexican rice and Nel did a bang-up job on vegetarian pinto beans. I love homemade cooking – especially when someone else is doing the cooking!

Leave a Reply

