George — 3 Months

Timeline: As of yesterday, our little George is 3 months old. We officially have an infant!

G 3 months

How We’re Feeling: We continue to be incredibly blessed — both George and I have been very happy and healthy. George is still smiling, laughing, and cooing and is learning all sorts of new things.  My favorite recent development is George’s experimentation with his voice – he loves to make new sounds and to vary the volume of his voice. I don’t know if he realizes exactly what he is doing, but he sure is having fun doing it. John and I also have lots of fun listening and watching.

How George is Changing: As of the end of December, George weighs in at approximately twelve pounds. We are still breastfeeding and fortunately everything is still going well. George feeds 8 times a day and one of those is typically a bottle feeding (usually given by John). George has been sleeping well and typically sleeps for 8 1/2 to 10 hours at night (without waking to feed/change). However, for the past three days George has been waking up in the middle of the night desperate for a feeding. I’m thinking we are in the midst of a growth spurt! George is also learning to use his hands and has really started to enjoy batting at toys and mastering tummy time. Also, George is very close to being able to roll over on his own. I am amazed by quickly George is learning and growing – very exciting!

How I’m Changing (Body After Baby): I will do another comprehensive update in a few weeks, but I am down 40+ pounds and feeling  great. Running and sleeping are going well for me too.

How I’m Staying Active: As I previously mentioned, I am in training for a February half marathon in Austin, TX. I am in week 7 of my training program and things are going well.  I also try to stretch and do strength training when I can.  Now that I am back at work, there is decidedly less time for me to do everything I’d like to do. 

What’s Keeping Me Busy: Did I mention that I am back at work now? Yes, maternity leave is over and I am back at work. I never really entertained the idea of staying at home with George, although John was very supportive of whatever I wanted. While I love George and am so thrilled to be his mother, staying at home and leaving my job isn’t for me. I think I can best serve him by working and serving as a role model in a “working parent” capacity. Additionally, I absolutely love my job and find my work to be very fulfilling –  I couldn’t imagine not returning to work.  Fortunately, my job allows me to work from home so I don’t feel like I’m missing out on too much.  Since my work travel will be limited in the coming year (well, compared to previous years), I think this arrangement will work for everyone. We have also hired a full-time nanny, making the transition that much easier (more on this topic later).

What’s New with George: George is growing like a weed. He is wearing mostly 3-6 month clothing now and I am struggling to keep his closet organized. Also, some days he looks like John…and some days he looks like me.

G3 Collage

What’s New at Cliffwood: With the holidays over, we are in the midst of a mini Winter cleansing. We are getting organized and reducing the amount of things we have in closets and in storage. We are also sprucing up a few things and plan to buy a few pieces of furniture. I can’t wait to post more about these things.

The Nursery: We are still deciding on wall art for the nursery. Decisions, decisions. George’s mobile arrived this week and we love it. George can stare at it for many minutes at a time. 

mobCollage

New Mom Love: While I am loving the toys and activity mats that George seems to finally be growing into, I must say that I have the most love for a sweater that a dear friend knitted for George. I mean…

G sweater

George — 3 months old

G in crib

One thought on “George — 3 Months

  1. babylute2013 says:

    George is so cute! Isn’t it so fun to watch their personalities develop??? I am loving this stage more and more as I can get more interaction with my baby as opposed to just feeding/sleeping/pooping stage 🙂 Sounds like you are doing well!

Leave a Reply

