Body After Baby: 6 Week Check-in

We celebrated George’s six-week birthday on Wednesday. To ring in the milestone, George slept seven hours straight the night before. Amen! Too bad John and I were woken up in the middle of the night due to dead batteries in our smoke detector. Oh, well. I also saw my doctor on Wednesday for my six-week postpartum exam. Great News — everything looks good and is healing well. I have also officially been cleared for exercise. So…let’s talk about that.

I’m going to be honest for the sake of my own accountability. If you don’t care to see numbers and stats, you should probably stop reading this post. If you want to be snarky or judgmental about me and my weight, you should probably also move along to something else. If you have a history with eating and or weight issues…look away. You get the idea. I am not trying to be defensive here, rather, my goal is for this post to be a drama-free and honest dialogue about returning to the “old me.” To be clear, constructive criticism and advice are fine and are welcome – hate is not. Capisce? So…here we go.

WEIGHT

Challenge: I gained 67 pounds during this pregnancy and suffered from edema towards the very end (this was only addressed when I checked into L&D). As of my six week appointment, I am down 30 pounds. To get back to my pre-pregnancy weight, I need to lose 37 more pounds. However, I was slightly underweight when I started the pregnancy, so I am not sure if I will attain my true pre-pregnancy weight. For the record, my doctor saw no problem with my pregnancy weight gain. My activity level, healthy eating habits, and low blood-pressure really pleased her and because there wasn’t a medical issue, she never gave it a second thought.

Goal: I’d like to lose another 5-10 pounds by January 1st. Because I am exclusively breast feeding, I realize that this might be somewhat of a challenge. Therefore, I’m going to work towards a delicate balance here. Obviously, feeding and growing George is my top priority. I plan to achieve this goal though smart nutritional choices and exercise.

NUTRITION

Challenge: Per my doctor’s orders, I’m not calorie-restricting or going on a crazy diet. Besides, I love food and don’t want to feel deprived (especially during the holidays). Calories are needed to create breast-milk, so I plan to eat about 2,000 to 2,200 calories per day. I am also against trendy short-term diets and therefore am personally against things like B-12 shots, Advocare, Visalus, Shakeology, Paleo, Atkins, etc.  I am not criticizing anyone who does these things, but that’s just not me. I need something that is going to help me in the long-term.

Goal(s): My goal is to make healthy food choices (totaling 2,000 to 2,200 calories per day) and to add additional servings of fruits and vegetables to my diet. I plan to make the best nutritional choices 80% of the time and to allow myself 20% of room to indulge. I will revisit this if I am not seeing the progress I’d like to see.  I also plan to up my water intake back to 2.5-3 liters per day. Hydration is key to successful breast feeding.

EXERCISE

Challenge: Finding time to exercise can be somewhat difficult with a newborn. George is a hungry boy, so I find myself feeding him much more often than I anticipated. That being said, I am very committed to exercising and finding time to do it. Fortunately, John is a very supportive partner and has pledged his support here.

Goal(s): I plan to run the Your Austin Half Marathon in February. I am unlikely to set a PR at the race, but I’d like to finish strong and make my way home with a finisher’s medal. I will begin a 12 week training program tomorrow that has me running four days a week and cross-training once a week. The other two days of the week are rest days. I have been running to build up my base mileage and confidence over the past two weeks. So far…so good. I am running much slower than my pre-pregnancy days, but I’m hopeful that I will get faster over time. This will certainly require lots of patience and optimism. At this point, my biggest issue is dealing with my new top-heavy shape!

So…there we have it. These are my goals and I am hopeful that I will be successful. I plan to provide a summary of my progress every four weeks so as not to overwhelm you or me with talk of weight, nutrition or exercise. I hope you’ll follow along with me as I make this journey.

In the meantime…Any thoughts? Advice?

 

8 thoughts on “Body After Baby: 6 Week Check-in

    • MCA says:

      Thank you kindly for the support! I’m going to follow you to support your goals!

      Isn’t baby hair adorable? I love George’s! 🙂

  1. babylute2013 says:

    Postpartum b It sounds like you have some great goals in It sounds like you have some great goals in a really success I too am breastfeeding so i I too am breastfeeding so it makes you have to eat around 2000 calo you have to eat around 2000 calories a day to keep up the milk supply. How exciting about your upcoming half marathon, I too have signed up to run a half marathon race, but mine is the beginning of April. You’ll have to keep us posted about how your training for the race is going. Keep up the great work, mommy, you are doing fantastic.

      • MCA says:

        Thanks for the support! I’ll post updates on my training on the blog.

        I’ll try to post frequently without boring folks too much. 🙂

      • babylute2013 says:

        It’s never boring reading updates! Keep them coming!

        I myself and struggling to find a balance in keeping up with things. I feel like I have so much I want to blog about…yet so little time. Between feedings every 2.5-3 hours, it seems that there is little time for anything. I’m sure you relate to that COMPLETELY!

  2. Shundea says:

    As someone who failed to lose any weight after either child, I applaud your discipline. You will be in my prayers as you try to consume 2000 healthy calories a day. My jaw hurt by lunch trying to do the same thing and I started to hate broccoli.

    I was able to lose inches after both births. I had to break my workouts into 15 minute segments to get them in. So don’t let not having a full 30 minutes or hour stop you. Please be careful. Even though your cleared for workouts there is still an off chance of hemorrhaging (trust me because I’m hard headed).

    Good Luck!!

Leave a Reply

