George — Week 2

Timeline: I’m 2 weeks postpartum; George is 2 weeks old. Wow…time flies!

How We’re Feeling: We are starting to get into a groove at Cliffwood.  John went back to work this week, so Georgie and I are flying solo now. Naturally, I am more tired than last week given all of my new responsibilities, but overall everyone is doing great.

How George is Changing: George is changing right before our eyes. George surpassed his birth weight this week and officially joined the 7 pound club. Go, George! He also lost his cord stump and had his first bath this week. So many milestones this week! George’s hair is starting to look awfully red. Do we have a ginger on our hands?

G W 2 Collage

How I’m Changing (Body After Baby): We’re 2 weeks post baby and I pretty much look the same. My belly continues to shink, but I am certain I will have a lot of work to do to get back to the old me.

2 weeks ppd

How I’m Staying Active: I’m walking everyday with George, but there really isn’t sweat involved. I’m still healing from our delivery and walking is plenty of activity for me. I’m going to try to add light weights back into my routine next week and to work up to an hour of walking each day.

What We’re Eating: Thanks to family and friends, we are still eating like royalty!

What’s Keeping Me Busy: In addition to looking after George, laundry is my number two task of every day. That, plus going through the mail, writing thank you notes, and cleaning up Cliffwood, are the top tasks that take up my day.

What’s New with George: We saw George’s pediatrician this week and she is pleased with his growth thus far. George did a great job at the office and really seems to enjoy car rides. That or he really likes John’s new car! George has also become incredibly alert and likes to keep his eyes open for the majority of the day. I know he can’t see much, but this is a major step in his development.

g alert

What’s New at Cliffwood: We had major drama  on Tuesday afternoon when a house on our street (4 doors down from us) burned to the ground. There was a significant first responder presence, as well as several helicopters overhead. Despite the sirens and noise, George slept through it all. Talk about sleeping like a baby! We were also kept busy by visits from special friends.

The Nursery: Sigh. We’re still working on the situation, but it looks like we are going to have to order something else.  Sigh.

New Mom Love: We are loving George’s new Boppy Newborn Lounger. He loves to sit in it and look around the room.  He also likes to stare at Mommy!

lounger

George — 2 Weeks Old

g in gray

11 thoughts on “George — Week 2

  1. roadtofertility says:

    What a cutie!! My sons have the shirt that says “My mom is out of this world!” Love me some Target!! Glad he’s doing so well!

  2. thebabydoctorswife says:

    He is too cute! And you look great. I too was shocked at how long it took for my belly to shrink…And at 5.5 weeks, it still isn’t back to normal. I was SO naive and thought after a month I would be back to my old self! It will come though before you even know it. SO glad to hear things are going so well! xo

    • MCA says:

      Thank You! I really appreciate the kind words. Being patient with myself and body isn’t easy, but I’m learning and trying. At this point, I’m taking every day as it comes and am trying to make healthy decisions everyday. Slowly, but surely I’m confident that I will make progress.

  3. Shundea says:

    Hey Shelly-girl!! That young man is gorgeous! You look good for two weeks out. I’m almost two years out and can’t get right. (I’m also non-committal to workouts..HA!) When you get cleared for ab workouts, Ms. Josie said leg lifts work best to get rid of the pooch. She got back in size 6 jeans after twins so I’ll believe her over any trainer.

    • MCA says:

      Shundea! Thanks, girl! Georgie is a doll!Tell me more about the leg lifts. Side-lying? Or more ab crunching with legs lifted upwards?

      How are you, dear? Everything good?

      • Shundea says:

        Traditional, on your back leg lefts. Alternate between angular and perpendicular lifts. I did 30 lifts a day for 45 days after Loren because breastfeeding failed. I was able to get back in my “kill’em jeans” without holding my breathe.

Leave a Reply

