38 Week Update

At 38 weeks pregnant, Baby Arnold is expected to arrive in approximately two weeks or less. While our doctor speculated that our baby will likely be overdue, we know we won’t go past October 21st. So, if I don’t go into labor before then, October 21st will be the big day!. Here are a few highlights from our life with Baby Arnold…

How Big Is the Baby? According to universal baby sites, Baby Arnold is approximately the size of a leek and weighs somewhere around 7 pounds.The baby should also be about 19 1/2 inches long. However, our doctor said that Baby Arnold is measuring a little small and is likely to be on the smaller side. At our weekly check-up, our doctor confirmed that everything looks great and is progressing as expected. We couldn’t be more thrilled.

It’s A…Baby! We are still firm in our decision to learn the gender of Baby Arnold at the delivery.The anticipation is GROWING.

How I’m Feeling – All things considered, I am feeling pretty great. My issues with indigestion and acid reflux seem to have passed. Whew! Unfortunately, I am still snoring like a MONSTER and keeping John awake at night. I am also swelling in ways I never imagined. Nevertheless, these are minor inconveniences and I am aware that I have had a relatively easy pregnancy.

How I’m Changing – My bump continues to round and drop. I am going to miss this…

bump

How I’m Staying Active – I met my goal to be active for at least 60 minutes every day this week. My workouts consisted of walking on the treadmill everyday, having two personal training sessions and doing some yoga and strength training at home. I plan to continue working out until the very end, health and doctor permitting.

What I’m Eating – I had some really great meals this week.  A new craving this week was…iced animal cookies. I know, weird. I haven’t had these in years, but I woke up this past week and had to have them. So, I did. I also had a really delicious sandwich at Walton’s Fancy and Staple in Austin, TX.  Everything about this veggie sandwich was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

Eat Collage

What I’m Wearing – I had a very busy work week and wore a mix of maternity and non-maternity work wear. I wore two new maternity dresses this week that were very comfortable. The grey dress is from Target and the print dress is by Olian for Nordstrom. I love both of them.

Dress Collage

What We’re Buying – We didn’t buy a single thing for Baby Arnold. Who are we??

What’s Keeping Us Busy  – Working and nesting are still our top two priorities. John and I spent the majority of the week in Austin working. I celebrated my 34th birthday this week and it was very low-key. I worked all-day and in the evening John and I celebrated with my colleagues. Once we returned to Houston, we celebrated my birthday again with a family dinner. I wanted comfort food and my Mom came over and prepared homemade chicken fried steak, mashed  potatoes and green beans.  Dinner was heavenly! We also spent the weekend in Galveston for a wedding (I’ll post more about that this week).  All told, we spent 5 of the past 7 days in a hotel room.  I haven’t done that since…July. I miss traveling for work, but I have also enjoyed working from home and seeing my friends and family more often.

The Nursery – We are still waiting for the crib, dresser, changing top, crib conversion kit and mirror to arrive. These items are expected to arrive in mid-October.

Official 38 Week Photo

Shelly_Week 38

One thought on “38 Week Update

Leave a Reply

