A Peaceful Weekend

John and I divided our weekend between Austin and Houston. After our private car seat installation/inspection appointment ended on Friday, we had dinner, then hit the road.  We checked into our “home away from home” — the Sheraton Hotel. We normally stay with the Hunters, but since the baby could come at anytime, we decided to stay at a place where we were less likely to inconvenience folks if we needed to jet in the middle of the night. Fortunately, that wasn’t an issue on this trip!

We were in Austin so that I could fulfill a handful of professional commitments. Specifically, I needed to attend a conference and attend a few meetings on Saturday. I had a really nice time catching up with friends and colleagues over the weekend, as well as learning a few new things. I absolutely love my job and am grateful for the fulfilling career I have built over the years. I’m very lucky.

TribFest

We met the Hunters for lunch at Food Heads on Saturday. Oh, Food Heads! We had such a simple, yet delicious meal.

FH

Afterwards, we spent the afternoon/evening with the Hunters watching football and relaxing. I had such a nice time resting my mind and body and enjoying quiet moments before Baby Arnold arrives. Nelda outdid herself and made some delicious food for us, including a bacon/artichoke dip, chili and an early birthday pineapple carrot cake for me. Look at this beauty – she was delicious!

Birthday Cake from N

John and I drove back to Houston after an early Sunday breakfast. We spent the day working and relaxing and organizing the house for Baby Arnold. All in all, we had a great weekend. I hope you had a great weekend too!

Leave a Reply

