35 Week Update

At 35 weeks pregnant, Baby Arnold is expected to arrive in approximately 30 days. Countdown – 1 month or less! Here are a few highlights from our life with Baby Arnold…

How Big Is the Baby? Baby Arnold is approximately the size of a honeydew melon and weighs somewhere around 5 pounds. The baby is about 18 inches long and continues to grow in weight and length. We had a doctor’s appointment this week and we were pleased to learn that the baby is finally head down. Learning this good news took a huge weight off of my shoulders as it reduces the likelihood of a necessary c-section. I also had my Group B Step exam, as well as my first cervical check. Hmm, three thoughts here…(1) I wasn’t mentally prepared for the exam; (2) It hurt more than I can say; and (3) I am questioning my ability to labor naturally. Sigh. Maybe my thoughts will change over the next few weeks, but my goodness did this check throw me for a loop. Regardless, Baby Arnold is progressing beautifully and everything looks great.

It’s A…Baby! We are still firm in our decision to learn the gender of Baby Arnold at the delivery. Boy and girl name selections are finalized (for now!).

How I’m Feeling – All things considered, I am feeling fabulous. I am sleeping better and my indigestion was much better this week. The baby continues to drop, making it easier for me to breathe. Sitting for long periods of time is also much easier.

Side Profile 35

How I’m Changing – My bump continues to round and grow. Here’s how my bump has changed over the past few weeks…

27 32 35 Collage

How I’m Staying Active – I met my goal to be active for at least 60 minutes every day this week. My workouts consisted of walking on the treadmill everyday and 3 personal training sessions. Although I always work hard when I exercise, we are somewhat taking it easy in my training sessions. With my expanding belly, it can be a bit hard to do certain moves, like push-ups. However, I always enjoy the challenge.

What I’m Eating – I had some really yummy meals this week, and most of them were enjoyed with my family. A few favorites from the week include a pimento cheese sandwich and beef chili oil ramen soup from Jenni’s Noodle House.I also had a delicious chili cheese hot dog today, but was too busy eating to snap a photo.

Food Collage

What I’m Wearing – Since I am pretty much home-based until the end of this pregnancy, I am still dressing very casually. Yoga clothes, house dresses, maxi dresses and kaftans are the standard.When I have lunches or social commitments outside the house, I typically wear maternity clothes. Although, today I wore a non-maternity dress. Here’s a comparison shot between today and the last time I wore it (at 17 weeks in Mexico)…

17 35 Collage

What We’re Buying – No purchases this week. We are still waiting for the crib, dresser and mirror to arrive, and we are now officially very nervous. Dear Dwell, where is my furniture? XOXO, a nervous Mom-to-be

What’s Keeping Us Busy  – Working and nesting are still our top two priorities. Also, my Mom had surgery this week (she is doing OK and resting at home now) and I spent some time in Baytown looking over her. We also celebrated John’s birthday this weekend. Good Times!

john cake

The Nursery – We are still unpacking baby gifts and received a few more this week. Check out this beautiful quilt that my Mom had made for us. We love it!

quilt

Official 35 Week Photo

Shelly_Week 35

9 thoughts on “35 Week Update

    • MCA says:

      Thanks for the compliment. The quilt is also super soft and I can’t wait to use it.

      The Group B Strep Exam isn’t painful. It was literally just a light swabbing. The cervical check is the exam that brought the hurt. I know everyone’s experience is different, so you may want to chat with your doctor about it beforehand.

      Hope this helps!

  1. babylute2013 says:

    Glad to hear your baby is now head down! I am sure that is a big relief for you.

    As far as the cervical check goes–I have my first one tomorrow at my appointment (not sure why I haven’t yet, but I’m not questioning it). Now I am nervous hearing that it’s uncomfortable/painful. I agree that the Group B Step Exam was a breeze, but nervous to for my cervix check!

    You look great, hope you are feeling well too!

    • MCA says:

      Don’t be nervous. Hopefully you will have a different experience. In hindsight, I should have asked my doctor what to expect before she did it.

      Thanks for your support — it is appreciated!

      • babylute2013 says:

        Every person is different–I sort of prepared myself for the worst, and I didn’t think it was too bad. And…found out that I’m already 1 cm dilated and 50% effaced…WASN’T EXPECTING THAT!

      • MCA says:

        That’s great. I am glad things went well.

        As I originally stated, everyone, and their experiences, are different.I think this is especially true with pregnancy! I am sometimes hesitant to share my pregnancy experiences because they won’t apply to all..but then I figure if it helps someone else it is worth it.

Leave a Reply

