32 Week Update

At 32 weeks pregnant, Baby Arnold is expected to arrive in approximately 50 days. We can’t believe how quickly the past 8 months have flown by. Here are a few highlights from our life with Baby Arnold…

How Big Is the Baby? Baby Arnold is approximately the size of a jicama or squash and weighs between 3 and 3 1/2 pounds. The baby is about 16 inches long and is still in a transverse position. We have a doctor’s appointment tomorrow and hope everything is still progressing as expected. Baby Arnold has been doing some pretty impressive somersaults this week. Hopefully he/she is having a nice time in there!

It’s A…Baby! We are still firm in our decision to learn the gender of Baby Arnold at the delivery.

How I’m Feeling – Fantastic. While I’m still suffering from swollen extremities in the afternoon and having some trouble staying asleep, I don’t have any real complaints. The heat is still unbearable, but I would complain about that even if I weren’t pregnant. I continue to feel very blessed.

How I’m Changing – My bump seems to be growing at a rapid pace. Holy Moly!

32 Weeks Side View

How I’m Staying Active – I met my goal and was active for at least 60 minutes every day this week. My workouts consisted of walking on the treadmill and a personal training session. Yet again, I was tempted to take a day or two off this week, but I made myself workout.

32 Weeks Exercise

What I’m Eating – My eating and drinking habits have been pretty normal this week.  My favorite meal of the week was our Saturday lunch at Torchy’s.  We braved the typical Saturday crowds in Rice Village and managed to snag an indoor table. Republican Tacos + Green Chile Queso + Topo Chico = a perfect lunch!

Torchy's

What I’m Wearing – Since I am pretty much home-based until the end of this pregnancy, I am dressing very casually. Yoga clothes, house dresses, maxi dresses and kaftans are the standard. Although I miss my heels and professional clothes, this home-based professional isn’t complaining. I can’t imagine how hot I would be if I were still traveling across the country on a weekly basis. I took advantage of online summer sales and ordered a few more maternity dresses online this week. Hopefully this will be all I need with regard to maternity clothing.

What We’re Buying – We purchased additional baby clothing this week (I know…), but otherwise have been preoccupied with waiting for the rest of our furniture to arrive for the nursery. Allegedly, the last of the furniture is expected soon.

What’s Keeping Us Busy  – Work and nesting have completely taken over our lives.  Since I have been having some trouble sleeping, and because John has been working late every day, I have been getting a lot of work done. Might as well get ahead while I can, no? We also attended a breastfeeding class on Saturday. The class was at our hospital (Texas Woman’s Hospital) and was taught by a passionate and knowledgeable RN. The class was very informative, much more than any book I have read on breastfeeding.  We were both glad to attend and learned more than we expected. We also interviewed, and chose, a pediatrician this week. We are really excited to work with our new doctor and were impressed by our visit and our office tour. I’ve said it before, but we are so grateful to live so close the Texas Medical Center. Finally, two of my best girlfriends (Sally and Chrissa) hosted a baby shower for me today.  I’ll post more on that later this week…but it was a great time!

B Class Collage

The Nursery – We finally have some progress to report…our Baby Bjorn Harmony Cradle finally arrived this week.  We love its simplicity and modern design! The cradle will be kept in our bedroom and we plan to use it until Baby Arnold is 6 months old. So, in addition to the cradle, we currently have our nursery chair and ottoman, side table, crib mattress, changing pad mattress, rug and rug pad.  We are still waiting for the crib, dresser and mirror to arrive.

Cradle

Official 32 Week Photo

Shelly_Week 32

4 thoughts on “32 Week Update

  1. babylute2013 says:

    I really like the cradle you got. I love the look of it! We just purchased a pack ‘n play with a bassinet feature online. We plan to use it in our bedroom until baby is older and can transition to her crib. Originally I didn’t want to get a pack ‘n play, but my husband made a good point that we will get a lot of usage out of it even later once she is older for travel purposes or going to friends houses.

    You look beautiful, as always. You are really glowing! That purple dress is really pretty. We have maternity photos coming up soon, and I am going crazy trying to figure out what to wear for the photo shoot. It shouldn’t be such a big issue, but these photos are going to be ones I look at for many years to come, so I don’t want to screw it up. I feel like a dress similar to this could be good in pictures. You have so many pretty maternity dresses!

Leave a Reply

