31 Week Update

At 31 weeks pregnant, Baby Arnold is expected to arrive in approximately 56 days! Here are a few highlights from our life with Baby Arnold…

How Big Is the Baby? Baby Arnold is approximately the size of a pineapple and weighs a little more than 3 pounds.  The baby is about 16 inches long and is still in a transverse position. We had a doctor’s appointment this week and everything still looks great. John and I were both surprised and amazed by how loud and strong the Baby’s heart rate has become. The sound of our Baby’s beating heart never gets old! Baby Arnold is still wildly active throughout the day and night and has become very responsive to our attempts to engage. In fact, Baby Arnold always responds when he/she hears John’s voice.

Pineapple

It’s A…Baby! We are still firm in our decision to learn the gender of Baby Arnold at the delivery. Our doctor is looking forward to making the big reveal, and learning the gender herself.

How I’m Feeling – Fantastic. Aside from swollen extremities in the afternoon and occasional trouble staying asleep, I don’t have complaints. Like many other Houstonians, I am trying to beat the heat by staying outdoors as much as possible and running my errands and tackling my workouts in the early mornings and evenings.

How I’m Changing – My bump is definitely getting larger, but is changing shape.  Baby is certainly resting higher up these days, and I have been feeling quite a few rib kicks lately.

31 week exercise

How I’m Staying Active – I met my goal and was active for at least 60 minutes every day this week. My workouts consisted of walking on the treadmill and three personal training sessions. I was tempted to take a day or two off this week, but I made myself workout.  As the old saying goes, I didn’t regret the workouts. In fact, I felt guilty for even attempting to believe that I wouldn’t enjoy the workouts in the first place. Lesson Learned…Again.

What I’m Eating – I have been utilizing my Vitamix like it is going out of style. Fresh smoothies and juices have been a constant staple throughout my pregnancy, but even more so this week. To prepare for our life with Baby, John is developing a list of meals that he can cook for us.  This week, he prepared a very tasty chicken stir-fry. Go, John! My number one craving this week was…pimento cheese! Since I wasn’t able to eat my favorite pimento cheese sandwich from Little Rock, AR…I settled on jalapeno pimento cheese from Whole Foods (on GF bread).  It was so delicious!

Food Collage

What I’m Wearing – Since I am pretty much home-based until the end of this pregnancy, I am dressing very casually. Yoga clothes, house dresses, maxi dresses and kaftans are my new uniform.  Some of these items are maternity wear, but some aren’t. My favorite dress (seen below) of the moment is from Anthropologie and is super comfortable. I wore this dress on Saturday to run errands and to look at potential new cars. I also ordered the cutest nursing clothing (gowns, robes and dresses) from Figure 8 Maternity.  These clothes are super comfortable and I’m sure I will get a lot of wear from them.

Clothes Collage

What We’re Buying – We purchased additional baby clothing this week (I know…), but otherwise have been preoccupied with waiting for our furniture to arrive for the nursery.

What’s Keeping Us Busy  – Work! John and I have both had very busy work weeks and were glad when the weekend rolled around.  Although we both worked at some point over the weekend, it’s nice to do it from home where we can see and talk to each other easily.  We also spent some time this weekend looking for cars. As previously mentioned, we are both looking for new vehicles and I think we have narrowed down our choices. We also attended an infant CPR and safety class on Saturday evening. The class was at our hospital (Texas Woman’s Hospital) and was taught by a witty, knowledgeable RN. Despite the heavy nature of the material, we really enjoyed the class and feel much better after attending.  John and I are both committed to lifetime learning and preparing for baby has us in learning overdrive. We love it! Additionally, we are both in absolute nesting mode. John and I have been spending quite a bit of time organizing and reorganizing every nook and cranny of our home.  We are using this time to purge anything that we don’t need or want.  This has been very therapeutic for the both of us.

The Nursery – Since we are still waiting on the delivery of our big furniture items, we spent time this week organizing our bookcase and the closet.

Official 31 Week Photo

Shelly_Week 31

2 thoughts on “31 Week Update

  1. babylute2013 says:

    Good luck with vehicle shopping! It’s fun to get a new car — but stressful all at once. Think about it, Baby Arnold will be riding around in that new car in just a few short months!

    I know what you mean when it comes to working out. I always say, “the only workouts I ever regret are the ones I didn’t do.” Way to go for pushing yourself to get moving when you weren’t feeling as motivated!

    • MCA says:

      I know. Isn’t that crazy!!

      Thanks for the encouragement. It’s getting harder, yet more fulfilling, to workout. That being said, I can’t wait to run again!

Leave a Reply

