30 Week Update

At 30 weeks pregnant, we are in the third trimester. Baby Arnold will arrive in ten weeks or less. Wow! Here are a few highlights from our life with Baby Arnold…

How Big Is the Baby? Baby Arnold is approximately the size of a cabbage and weighs about 3 pounds.  The baby is about 16 inches long and is still in a transverse position. We have a doctor’s appointment tomorrow and we are looking forward to hearing how Baby is growing and changing. Baby Arnold is still wildly active throughout the day and night and I love feeling all of the movements.

It’s (Still) A…Mystery. We won’t know if Baby Arnold is a boy or girl until the delivery. The anticipation is building!

How I’m Feeling – I’m still feeling really wonderful. Aside from being swollen in the afternoon, I really don’t have anything to complain about. I feel very lucky!

How I’m Changing – My belly is rounding and growing at record pace. Look at this bump!

30 weeks side

How I’m Staying Active – I met my goal and was active for at least 60 minutes every day this week. My workouts consisted of walking and personal training sessions with Mandy.  Although the Texas heat and humidity have been brutal lately, I am really pushing myself to remain as active as possible.

What I’m Eating – I was insanely thirsty this week. Perhaps this isn’t surprising since it has been so hot and humid? I’m still addicted to Topo Chico and have been consuming ungodly amounts of my favorite water. I had two real food cravings this week and I told myself if I waited until the weekend I could have them — waffles and Pappa’s BBQ (with beans and macaroni). So I waited…and had them both today. Delicious!

food Collage

What I’m Wearing – I worked from home again this week and pretty much lived in workout clothes for the past 7 days. For several lunch meetings, however, I did wear maternity dresses. Come to think of it, I don’t own maternity pants or jeans…and with this heat I am not likely to purchase them anytime soon.

What We’re Buying – Clothes. Yes, even more of them. Stop us. We also purchased a beautiful bassinet for our bedroom. I’ll post photos when it arrives.

What’s Keeping Us Busy  –  Birthing Class! On Saturday, John and I attended the “Fast Track Birthing Class” at our hospital (Texas Woman’s Hospital).  The class was from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM and covered a wide range of topics including late stage pregnancy, labor and delivery, options for delivery, relaxation techniques, breastfeeding, post partum, the fourth trimester, and a hospital tour. While it was a long day, we really enjoyed the class and are so glad we made the time to attend.  We learned a lot of new things and it felt great to really get comfortable with the next stage in our life.  Since the fear-tension-pain cycle can be a dangerous animal for me, I always try to do what I can to learn and expose myself to life’s possibilities before they happen.  I walked away with several lists (including a “to-do” list and “questions” list) and look forward to tackling the items on them.  John and I signed up for a few more classes at the hospital and can’t wait to learn more.

class Collage

The Nursery – Our contractor and his crew continued their work this week and we are very, very close to the final product. I have started to move some things into the room, but we are no where near “done.”  John hung our window treatments and we are both big fans of the sheer and black-out sheet combination that we chose. My big focus this week was organizing the closet. Well, at least beginning the process. I have spent a lot of time and money at the Container Store, but I believe in organizing things as much as possible. We are still waiting on the majority of our furniture to arrive.

nursery Collage

Official 30 Week Photo

Shelly_Week 30

2 thoughts on “30 Week Update

  1. babylute2013 says:

    I love your Toms:)

    Sounds like we went to a very similar class this weekend. Ours was an all day class too. It was so good to be educated in within a hospital setting. Though much of the information I have read in books or heard from others, having it in a class setting within a hospital (taught by a labor and delivery nurse) makes everything feel a bit more real.

    • MCA says:

      Agreed. Confirmation and Affirmation are very power things! Especially when anxiety and fear are likely to be involved. I’m glad you had a great experience.

Leave a Reply

