27 Week Update

We celebrated 27 weeks of being pregnant this week. Can you believe we are at the end of the second trimester?! Gulp. Here are a few highlights from our life with Baby Arnold…

How Big Is the Baby? Baby Arnold is currently the size of a head of cauliflower. The baby weighs approximately 2 pounds and is roughly 14 inches long. We had a doctor’s appointment this week and Baby Arnold is measuring right on track.  Additionally, I did my glucose testing this week and passed with flying colors. Whew!

glucose

It’s (Still) A…Mystery. We won’t know if Baby Arnold is a boy or girl until the delivery. Are we tempted to find out? Of course. However, we are determined to let this be one of life’s great surprises!

How I’m Feeling – I’m still feeling fabulous. I spent part of the week in Las Vegas on what is likely to be my last out-of-state work trip. The flights were a breeze and I was able to stay indoors thanks to the layout of the conference I attended. I am still sleeping like a champ and am only experiencing modest swelling, usually on days that I am especially active or standing/walking for long periods of time.

How I’m Changing – We’re still rounding and getting bigger by the second. Here’s a look back at the second trimester (minus weeks 14/15 – how did I forget to take pictures!?)…

2nd trimester Collage

How I’m Staying Active – I met my goal and was active for at least 60 minutes every day this week.  I managed to incorporate walking and personal training into my workout regimen. I am really enjoying seeing Mandy again and am going to try to add more personal training sessions as my travel schedule winds down. I logged an amazing amount of steps/miles in Las Vegas.  It’s amazing how much ground one can cover when distracted by games, people, decor and shopping.

27 week bump

What I’m Eating – While on the road this week, I was very committed to eating healthily. I indulged in several amazing meals in Vegas (hey – I was entertaining folks!), but also balanced things out with fresh juices, lean proteins and lots of fruits and vegetables.  Given the heat in Vegas (and in Houston), I made a serious effort to consume more water than usual.

What I’m Wearing – I am still working a mix of maternity and non-maternity clothes.  When I traveled to Vegas, however, everything was maternity. I ended up wearing these great dresses from Nordstrom, Isabella Oliver and Target this week.

weekCollage

What We’re Buying – We bought a few things for Baby Arnold this week, including an adorable sleep sack with giraffes on it. And then…

The Nursery – Since our contractor was on vacation this week, not much happened with the physical structure of the room. However, we made some progress elsewhere! We abandoned our previous idea to purchase bedding from Dwell once Baby Arnold arrives (we had a set picked out for a girl and one for a boy,) and purchased the Tobin nursery bedding set from Pottery Barn Kids today.  It was love at first sight! We love the gray/white theme and are quite fond of the giraffes.  We plan to add some touches of color to the room, but for now we are totally digging the almost monochromatic theme we’ve pieced together for the nursery. We also ordered window treatments, window hardware and a rug from Pottery Barn Kids.  Once these items, plus the furniture, arrive, I will post a few photos of our design progress. I can’t wait!

tobin bedding

Official 27 Week Photo

Shelly_Week 27

Leave a Reply

