July 9th – Kauai

After another great night of sleep, we hit the gym again for AM workouts. I walked 3 miles on the treadmill, then followed that with a strength training circuit and some stretching. It feels so good to exercise first thing in the morning!

We followed our workouts with breakfast at the hotel’s Makana Terrace restaurant.  I went with an omelet, side of fruit and glass of freshly squeezed passion fruit juice. I die! I must juice one of these soon.

breakfast

Afterwards, we spent another long day lounging on the beach. John spent some time exploring the marine wildlife around the property and did some snorkeling. When on vacation, one can always find John analyzing the local ecology.

J Wild Collage

I prefer not to know what is lurking in the water!

me beach

I spent the day lounging, reading and people watching. We had beach-side lunches again, but this time I went with a hot dog. So random, but so delicious. We also split an order of the dips and homemade pita chips.

lunch Collage

By late afternoon, I was feeling very tired and a tad overheated. We returned to room where I took a brief 30 minute siesta. After that, I ended up taking a leisurely 1.5 m walk around the hotel grounds. As a result, I had a ton of energy. I also had these views to take in while walking…

View Collage

For dinner, we drove in to Hanalei and ate at Bar Acuda. This was another restaurant that came highly recommended. We were not disappointed. Since Bar Acuda is a tapas bar, we shared several small plates over the course of our dinner — marinated olives, marcona almonds, ahi tuna carpaccio, baked kale and lentil, beef short ribs, steak skewers, mint chocolate ice cream atop a brownie and a blueberry and peach galette with homemade honey ice cream. Everything was delicious.

dinner Collage

One thought on “July 9th – Kauai

Leave a Reply

