26 Week Update

We celebrated 26 weeks of being pregnant this week and just returned from a glorious Hawaiian vacation (a baby-moon, if you please). Here are a few highlights from our life with Baby Arnold…

How Big Is the Baby? Baby Arnold is currently the size of an English cucumber. Can’t quite picture that? Essentially, the baby weighs just under 2 pounds and is about 14 inches long.

It’s (Still) A…Secret. Girl? Boy? We just hope the baby is human!

How I’m Feeling – I’m still feeling fabulous. Our return flight from Oahu to Houston was a breeze – I was extremely comfortable. Thanks to my status with United, John and I were both upgraded to first class seats. I took full advantage of the lie-flat seats and spent the majority of the flight sleeping. Win! I also wore my compression socks and made sure to drink plenty of water before and after the flight.

How I’m Changing – Look at this bump (my apologies for the post-workout look) — we’re still rounding and getting bigger by the second.

26 week workout

How I’m Staying Active – I met my goal and was active for at least 60 minutes every day this week.  I managed to incorporate walking and hiking into my workout regimen.  Steps and mileage sure add up when sightseeing, so I spent a great deal of time this week moving and generally staying active.  I also did mini strength training sessions everyday on my own — my trainer will be proud! Since John and I did our workouts together this week, exercising while on vacation seemed less awkward than you might imagine.

What I’m Eating – Even though we were on vacation, I was very committed to eating healthily. While I certainly indulged, I made a conscious effort to try to balance things out by having as many servings of fruits and vegetables as possible. One of my splurges was the hotel’s infamous Bloody Mary. I obviously had mine without alcohol, but this Aloha Bloody Mary was amazing. Worth every granule of excess sodium! On the other hand, I absolutely loved a green juice that I grabbed from a roadside juice stand while sightseeing.

Drink Collage

What I’m Wearing – Because we were on vacation, I added new maternity dresses into my wardrobe this week. One of my travel dresses –  a black dress from Target – is a new favorite. I also loved the bathing suits I packed (a few maternity suits and a few JCrew suits purchased a size up), as well as my beach cover up.

clothes Collage

What We’re Buying – We bought a few things for Baby Arnold this week, including a onesie and a deck of tropical flash cards.  The cards were John’s idea (surprise, surprise!).

Baby Gifts Collage

The Nursery – Since we were traveling, not much happened with the nursery this week. Well, that’s only half true. I plan on posting on this more tomorrow, but we finally cleaned out the closet in Baby Arnold’s room.  Instead of a storage closet, Baby Arnold now has space for his/her things.

Official 26 Week Photo

Shelly_Week 26

8 thoughts on “26 Week Update

  1. babylute2013 says:

    That is incredible that you still met your exercise goals while on vacation. IMPRESSIVE! That is great that you are feeling so good, especially with your long flight.

    P.S. are you keeping baby’s gender a surprise until birth?? How neat! I think that is cool when couples do that, but I don’t have the strength or willpower to not know!

Leave a Reply

