24 Week Update

We celebrated 24 weeks of being pregnant this week. That’s right, I’m officially 6 months along in this journey. Crazy! Here are a few highlights from our life with Baby Arnold…

How Big Is the Baby? Baby Arnold is currently the size of a cantaloupe. Imagine the size of a cantaloupe for a second. Yes…that’s exactly what I thought.

24__melon

It’s (Still) A…Secret. I spent the majority of the week in St. Louis and Chicago at conferences with my coworkers and friends/colleagues in the field.  I had a great time fielding the “what are you having?” question along with the inevitable boy/girl guesses.  For those interested, I had more “it’s a girl” statements than “it’s a boy.”

How I’m Feeling – I’m feeling fabulous.  Traveling was tiring this week, but I tried to balance work with eating healthily, drinking plenty of water, exercising and resting.  While I certainly don’t have a magic formula, I do think I know what works for me. Well…for now. I’m really trying hard to listen to my body and to give it what it needs.

How I’m Changing – Look at this bump!

24_Bump

How I’m Staying Active – I met my goal and was active for at least 60 minutes every day this week.  I managed to incorporate walking and yoga into my workout regimen this week, along with a personal training session from Mandy. My favorite workout was a two-hour walk through Chicago on Friday — it was glorious! I also participated in a 5K while at a conference in Chicago. I walked the race, but was able to finish it in 53 minutes.  I was tempted to run (or at least try to), but common sense told me to w-a-l-k.

24_WalkCollage

What I’m Eating – I’m still trying to eat healthily, although travel frequently complicates this. Sometimes the problem is a lack of healthy food options, other times the problem is my desire to try local, often unhealthy, delicacies.  Either way, I’m always trying to balance it all out. This week, I couldn’t help myself and treated myself to two tasty Chicago treats — a hot dog at the Navy Pier and bites of doughnuts from Do-Rite Doughnuts.  Both treats were melt-in-your-mouth goodness.  I figure if you aren’t treating yourself at 6 months pregnant…well, then I guess you just aren’t me.

24_food Collage

What I’m Wearing – I added a few new maternity dresses into my wardrobe this week.  I’m loving these navy maternity dress options that I found recently at Nordstrom and Isabella Oliver…

24_Navy Collage

What We’re Buying – I purchased a few cute items at Baby Gap for Baby Arnold while in Chicago. Additionally, during my travels in St. Louis, my coworkers surprised me with a baby shower. It was fun and a very special gesture. In addition to a very generous Target gift target, I also received a mini library of children’s books for Baby Arnold from my colleagues. Every book was personalized and gifted to me in a very meaningful way. I work with the best people and am proud to be part of a special work family.

STL Shower Collage

The Nursery – While I was traveling, our contractor began work on the nursery.  The crews removed all of the built-in furniture (except the bookcase) and while there is still a lot of electrical and cosmetic work to be done, we are very excited about the progress.

24__ Room Collage

Official 24 Week Photo

24__official 24

3 thoughts on “24 Week Update

      • babylute2013 says:

        I feel the same way. Some days I am so tempted to skip a workout, but then I know that I have a goal of working out 5-6 times per week, so if I miss a day, I won’t reach my goal. Plus, I have never regretted working out, and I have indeed regretting skipping. The healthier and more active we are as pregnant ladies, the healthier babies. Plus, it will be so much easier to get back to pre-baby bodies too!

Leave a Reply

