21 Week Update

Last week had its share of ups and downs. The high — John and I celebrated our seven year wedding anniversary. It’s amazing how quickly time has passed. The low — Grandma G passed away on Friday and we were in South Texas yesterday and today for our final goodbye.

Since we are trying to stay positive around Casa Cliffwood, here are a few highlights from our life with Baby Arnold…

How Big Is the Baby? Baby Arnold is currently the size of a pomegranate. I know — we can’t believe it either.

It’s A…mystery. Yes, it’s still a secret and our perinatal doctor is the keeper of the news. I’m seeing my colleagues for the first time in 2 months tomorrow and I can’t wait to hear their thoughts on the sex of Baby Arnold. Since I don’t get to see these folks everyday, it will be interesting to see what their thoughts are on my overall growth.

How I’m Feeling – Last week was  somewhat of a tough week for me.  In addition to feeling sad about Grandma Galindo, I was (and still am) also suffering from a terrible cold.  Coughing, sneezing and a sore throat seem to be so much more difficult to overcome while pregnant.  What started as a few sneezes is now a full-blown summer cold. As a result, I am having a hard time sleeping, breathing and relaxing. Sigh.  This too shall pass.

How I’m Changing –My belly is certainly getting rounder and feels heavier.  Every part of my body continues to expand and I can feel every ounce that I am gaining.  On the other hand, my hair and nails are growing at a rapid pace! I am really looking forward to having a defined pregnant belly instead of a is-she-or-isn’t-she questionable belly.  Know what I mean, ladies?

How I’m Staying Active –I met my goal again and did 60 minutes of cardio everyday.  With the way I have been feeling I have stuck to fast walking on the treadmill.  I got some new kicks in order to make sure my knees and ankles are well-cushioned and I love them. These Asics are heavier than the shoes I was previously in, but I am sure I need the extra cushioning with the extra weight that I am carrying. I am also thrilled to share that I am seeing Mandy again! For those who don’t know her, or my relationship with her, Mandy is a kick-ass personal trainer that I have worked with in the past.  To help stay in shape and to have supervised strength training sessions, I am now seeing Mandy twice a week. My workout consists of pregnancy approved exercises, but boy are these challenging.  My legs and arms are still sore from my initial workouts with Mandy.

Pregnancy Running Shoes

What I’m Eating – One of the downsides of being sick is a loss of appetite.  While I continue to eat for Baby Arnold, I hate that I can’t really taste anything.

What I’m Wearing – I spent the week working from home (Amen!) and spent most of my days living and working in yoga and exercise apparel.  All of these outfits still fit, in part due to stretchy material.  See, I knew investing in Lululemon clothing would pay off!

What We’re Buying – We made a few purchases for Baby Arnold last week. In addition to a few items for the nursery (you can read about that in a few minutes), I purchased some really nifty bags to organize our diaper bags.  These wet/dry bags will be perfect for storing/organizing food, diapering goods, feeding and health-related tools while we are on the go.

Diaper Bag Mini Bag Collage

The Nursery – We’ve finally made some progress in the nursery this week! Since we are converting our remaining guest bedroom (our other guest bedroom is currently my office) into Baby Arnold’s nursery, we have a lot of work on our hands.  While we wait for our contractor to begin the remodel project, we are currently working to relocate items currently in the bedroom.  This means we are purging lots of books, furniture and luggage and finding new homes for some of these items.  I also spent some time organizing all of the baby items we have received and purchased.  With respect to the clothes, I tackled a fun mini project…Baby Arnold’s closet! I ordered these clothes dividers from Etsy and assembled them this week.

Closet Divider Collage

I picked up some baby hangers and now Baby Arnold’s clothes are organized beautifully! I also spent some time at Container Store this week and picked up some baskets for our bookshelf in the nursery.  Yes, friends, I am totally OCD and will carry this little habit carry over into Baby Arnold’s nursery.

Official 21 Week Photo

Shelly_Week 21

2 thoughts on “21 Week Update

  1. Maria Rivera says:

    Michelle, I love your blog! I must say that I think you are a very awesome person 🙂
    God bless you always 🙂

Leave a Reply

