16 Week Update

And just like that…16 weeks of pregnancy has passed. How can I be 4 months into this journey already?

While we are still in Mexico enjoying a little rest and relaxation, I thought it was important to celebrate this milestone. I won’t bore you with a week-by-week review of the past 16 weeks, but I will share a few highlights.

How did we find out? If you will recall, I was terribly ill in early February and spent some time in the emergency room. What was initially diagnosed as a really bad stomach virus was actually a serious case of “morning sickness.” A positive pregnancy wasn’t confirmed in the hospital (it was too early), but was confirmed about a week later. Yes, I was one of those strange women who officially knew she was pregnant at 4 weeks.

How did we share the news? My closest friends knew from the start due to various circumstances. Nothing weird to see here folks – just really long (funny) stories! We told our families at Easter with surprise notes in Easter baskets. We announced to our friends and Facebook (just after I told my coworkers) just after the 15 week mark with these cute fortune cookie booties that I had made via Etsy.

Baby Arnold Annoucement_Fortune Booties

How Big Is the Baby? The baby is currently the size of an avocado. Over the last 16 weeks, we have had quite a few ultrasounds, and have had several opportunities to see Baby Arnold. Needless to say, we are excited by what we have seen. Here is a look at Baby Arnold’s 8 and 12 week ultrasounds.

8 & 12 Week Ultrasound Collage

It’s A… Mystery. Much to the dismay of friends and family, we have decided not to find out the sex of the baby. Call us old-fashioned, but we can’t wait to be surprised in the delivery room. Here’s hoping that every doctor, nurse and technician along the way plays along.

How I’m Feeling – In a word…Fantastic! I won’t lie and suggest that everything has been easy, but all things considered, this has been a walk in the park. I have suffered mild nausea and dizzy spells, but I am feeling much better than I did in weeks 8-12. Mentally, I think I have finally accepted the concept that I am, in fact, having a baby. As crazy as it sounds, I went through a brief period of shock and disbelief. Then I went straight into the crazy what-is-happening-to-me-what-am-I-going-to-do-is-this-normal phase. Yup, totally normal. Let me take this opportunity to thank my friends and family for helping me walk through the crazy. I won’t say that I am completely over the crazy phase, but things appear to be getting better on that front. I am also sleeping much better (and longer) than I did in weeks 8-12.

How I’m Changing – Hmmm. What can I say about this? I am not really showing…unless you look at my cleavage. Which is…pretty hard to ignore these days. I won’t share how much weight I have gained because the total number will be a part of a shower game later this summer. That’s right – my friends will try to guess how much weight I have gained as a baby shower activity. I guess I have lost my mind!?

How I’m Staying Active – I am really proud to say that I have been very active these past 16 weeks. Aside from a brief benching after my emergency room visit, I have continued my running and strength training regimen. For the past four weeks, I have run 5 days a week and done walking and strength training the other two days. Basically, my goal is to get in at least 60 minutes of cardio a day. I realize that this is ambitious, but it sure is great for my mind, body and soul. I plan to keep this up until my doctor tells me to stop or things become uncomfortable.

What I’m Eating – I haven’t had any food aversions or many cravings. Basically, I continue to eat the same things I always have, although I am making conscious efforts to incorporate as many fruits and vegetables as possible. In terms of cravings, I have really only had three – Topo Chico sparkling water, avocado and queso. Don’t Judge!

What I’m Wearing – I am still wearing my regular clothes (although some are out of the rotation for being too tight to be professional). I know, boring. I wore my first maternity item (a work dress) the day I turned 16 weeks just to test things out. I am sure I am going to balloon out sometime soon so I thought I should get used to new clothing. Speaking of clothing, I have done a bit of shopping in the maternity department. For work clothes, I have made purchases at Isabella Oliver and The Loft and casual clothes have been purchased from the Gap (maternity line), Nordstrom and Target (Liz Lange). I am still exercising in my regular workout apparel thanks to stretchy fabrics. I am grateful that maternity fashion has come a long way in the past several years and I cannot wait to try my hand at being pregnant and fashionable.

What We’re Buying – Surprisingly, we haven’t purchased many items for Baby Arnold yet. We have done quite a bit of research, however, and have selected a crib, stroller and a few other large items. We are also beginning to piece together ideas for our nursery.

Odds & Ends – I promise to get better about taking photos! In the meantime…

Week 8 - 13 Collage

Shelly_Week 16

In the future, I plan to do weekly pregnancy updates with details on our growth (baby and me!), nursery progress, baby gear updates, as well as all other things baby-related.

4 thoughts on “16 Week Update

  1. Aman says:

    So exciting- I loved this update! I’ll be watching your progress very closely- I love that you are still able to work/exercise & get ready for baby. I’m hoping to do it as gracefully as you in the next few years 🙂

    • MCA says:

      Thanks, Amanda. Please let me know if there is anything you want to know about. As a fellow business traveler, I plan to share details about how I am balancing work travel, schedules and making it all jive with a personal life. Hope you’re doing we’ll!

Leave a Reply

