Easter 2013

We spent last weekend in Austin (actually I spent almost all week there for work) for Easter.  Due to some family health issues not everyone was able to gather in Austin, but my sisters and I (along with our significant others) were able to celebrate the holiday together.

On Good Friday, Nelda and I spent the day exercising, watching “Downtown Abbey” and having some great meals (Daily Juice, El Chile and some amazing homemade grilled cheeses). I kicked off Saturday by running the ASH Dash 5K for the second year in a row.  I bested last year’s time and finished in 27:04. I celebrated by meeting John at Taco Deli for breakfast tacos.  I may have an addiction to the Dona sauce.  Just saying.

 Saturday race Collage

Later, John and I had a great lunch with Nelda and Zach at North and enjoyed some afternoon shopping at the Domain.  We spent the evening at the Hunter residence and were joined by Julie and Ian for an outdoor barbecue dinner, courtesy of Nelda and Zach.

Saturday Eve Collage

On Sunday, we all went to an 8:00 AM Easter mass (!) and had brunch afterwards at the Hunter’s home. Nelda was a grand supreme hostess and prepared quite a spread of delectable dishes.  My favorites included the blueberry and mascarpone turnovers and baked gruyere and sausage frittata. Delicious!  Since my Mom was taking care of elder family members in south Texas, John and I left Austin around noon and made our way to Baytown to have dinner with my Dad.  It was good to see him for Easter!

Sunday Collage

Even though things didn’t go as planned, we really enjoyed ourselves last weekend. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I am lucky to have such an amazing family. John and I continue to feel very blessed!

Arnolds at Easter in Austin

One thought on “Easter 2013

Leave a Reply

