St. Patrick’s Day

We celebrated St. Patrick’s Day with a road race, good food and lots of relaxation. In order to get to the Seabrook Lucky Trails Marathon Relay in time, John and I spent Saturday night in Seabrook. Because of a job I had (and loved) with a local school district a few years ago, I am very familiar with the area and we really enjoyed spending some time there. Call me lazy, but I really enjoyed staying 2 miles from the starting line and squeezing in an extra hour and a half of sleep!

medal

Julie, Jennifer, Maggie and I were a foursome for the marathon relay and we each ran a 6.5 mile leg. I went first and knocked out my leg in 1:01:17. Since this was my first outdoor run since the Austin Half Marathon (I have been relying on treadmills), I will take the 9:25 pace! I really enjoyed the course – a mix of several trails and pathways. Additionally, the race was well-supported by staff and the organizers seemed to think of everything for runners on the course – water, Gatorade, cold towels, ice, oranges, gels, etc… Once I finished my leg, I relaxed with my teammates. We watched the race (we sat right by the relay exchange/finish line), listened to music, did some people watching (this was particularly good!) and chatted the morning away. I even had a hot dog for breakfast while our third runner (Jennifer) was on the course.

hotdog

What can I say? I was very hungry (no pre-race fuel – FAIL) and the race organizers prepared a terrific spread for both runners and spectators. The race served up hot dogs, hamburgers, rice and beans, chips, candy, Girl Scout cookies, fresh fruit, ice cream and an assortment of drinks – no one was going hungry. Before we knew it, Julie was wrapping up the final leg of the relay, and our relay team was done in 4:23:12. Here is our team (minus Maggie who had to jet early to study) after the race.

robby

After the race, we packed up our minicamp and headed over to Tookie’s for lunch. Do you know about Tookie’s? If you don’t, Tookie’s serves up great burgers and has been doing so since the 70’s – save a few years thanks to Hurricane Ike damage. I have been eating at Tookie’s for as long as I can remember and John is a fan too. Needless to say, we were all looking forward to a tasty lunch.

tookies

Fortunately, Tookie’s did not disappoint. I had a bun-less cheeseburger with a side of tater tots. To.Die. For. How can something so simple be so delicious? With a foamy Root beer, my meal was perfect!

John and I spent the rest of the day relaxing and working. After a very hectic past few weeks, yesterday was a great way to blow off some steam. Did you have a good St. Patrick’s Day?

One thought on “St. Patrick’s Day

Leave a Reply

