A Weekend at Home

After weeks of non-stop professional and personal commitments, I was thrilled for a weekend at home. On Friday, Julie, Sally, and I met up at the Winter Holiday Art Market (sponsored by Fresh Arts).

We did a lot of shopping and I had fun chatting with friends, both old and new. I also had a great time looking at all of the offerings, sampling food and even managed to pick up some stationary and a few Christmas gifts. Afterwards, we met John and Ian at Sparrow for dinner.

Our meal was excellent! Sally and I also had an opportunity to check out the kitchen and to ask Chef Monica Pope a few questions about gluten-free dining.  Good times!

On Saturday, my family got together to celebrate the 38th wedding anniversary of Mom and Dad Cruz.  My parents renewed their wedding vows after mass and then we celebrated with dinner at the Red Fox (in Baytown).

I did a long run this morning (9 miles!) and then my family came over to Cliffwood to watch the Texans pull out a nail biter of a game. In true Cruz fashion, we also had quite a spread of food — sausage, burgers, dips, chips, veggies, ice cream, etc.

Afterwards, I did normal Sunday tasks – dishes, laundry, organizing, work, etc. It was a great, relaxing and relatively low-key weekend. I spent a lot of time with family this weekend and, as always, feel blessed to be close with them and to have them in my life.  I hope you had a wonderful weekend too!

Leave a Reply

