Working (Mexico-style)…

Thanks to our jungle location and our villa’s black out shades, John and I slept for 8 glorious hours Thursday night. That may not seem like a big deal to you, but we both typically average 5 to 6 hours of sleep a night during the week. Anyhow, we both woke up well-rested and ready to enjoy a Friday in Mexico.

We worked from the villa before transferring to the Coral Grill for breakfast. In between emails and calls, I enjoyed a green juice (!), refried black beans and eggs and chorizo. A girl could get used to this!

Afterwards, we moved over to a private beach palapa and worked from the comfort of our beach chairs. Don’t you just love modern technology? I cannot think of a better place to read reports/research, compose/respond to correspondence and complete administrative tasks.

Since we were so comfortable, we ended up eating lunch at our chairs. We began with (what else?)…guacamole, salsa and chips. Sigh. Even though I say it all the time, I absolutely love avocados in Mexico. Truly delicious. The Habanero salsa they served was extraordinary. Truly. I also had the cochinita pibil tacos for lunch and was thoroughly impressed.

After lunch we took a stroll on the hotel’s pier, then made our way back to the villa. I set up shop on the patio and worked the afternoon away.

Just as the sun began to set, I made my way to the gym and ran four miles on the treadmill. I had the gym to myself and a great view of the beach. Very relaxing.

Post-run is when things got a bit wonky. I went to take a shower and there wasn’t hot water. Long story short, I ended up showering in the steam room at the hotel spa.  Yeah, so…we ended up dining at the hotel’s Friday night BBQ on the beach. Although it was chilly and a bit windy, we enjoyed dining al fresco at the water’s edge.   We had pumpkin soup, a simple salad, grilled seafood, meats and chicken, beans, potatoes and grilled fruit.  Our dinner was a fun way to end our day and a hectic work week.

Leave a Reply

