Toughest 10K Galveston

My life has been insanely busy lately, and I am sure you can relate.  Even though I have been busy with professional obligations, I have managed to have fun too.  For example, John, Julie, Ian and I spent some time in Galveston this weekend. We had a fun Friday evening — dinner at Luigi’s, delicious ice cream from a cute confectionery, and a stroll along the Strand. I always forget how much I love spending time in Galveston until I am there.  Note to self: Plan a little getaway to Galveston soon.

On Saturday, Julie and I ran the Toughest 10K Galveston.  We had a blast! I set a new PR for myself – 51:56 (8:22 pace).  Woo Hoo! Additionally, I finally outran a woman and her dog. Here’s the (true) story…I have seen this woman (Lea) and her dog (Sonja) at local races over the years and I have always wanted to outrun them.  Call me crazy, but I like goals.  I’m really glad I can finally cross this goal off the list!

After the race, John and I drove back to Houston and had a lazy day around Cliffwood.  I organized the house and worked on switching over my closet from summer clothing to fall/winter wear. Since I have an unhealthy amount of clothes, shoes and accessories, this is still a work in progress. We also spent an inordinate amount of time watching college football yesterday.  Again, I am sure you can relate!

We had a slow start today, but still managed to get in our workouts and chores before my family came over for lunch.  I roasted a turkey and cooked a couple of side items for lunch today.  Even though it was a lot of work, I am so glad I did it.

Since we are spending Thanksgiving with the Arnolds this year, it was nice to get a Thanksgiving-y meal with my family today.  I also made an apple-pear-cranberry crisp and served it with Bluebell vanilla ice cream.  Good times.

I hope you had a great weekend and are ready for the week. I have a lot going in the coming days and am heading to bed early to get some extra zzz’s. Good Night!

Leave a Reply

