Turning 33!

 

Last week, I turned 33 (not 40 – ahem, Chris Bilton). If you didn’t already know this about me, I am not one of those people that obsess over age and numbers.  As such, being 33 is more exciting than scary (sad, pathetic, worrisome – you get the idea) to me.

I began my birthday with a nice 6-mile run and came home to a display of presents from my very generous husband.  Love him!

Although I spent the majority of the day in meetings, on conference calls, in webinars, and on the phone, John and I managed to have lunch together at Ouisie’s table. As usual, the food and service were terrific. I also unexpectedly received gifts from two dear friends late in the afternoon and have never been more surprised by delivery men (As an employee who works from home and receives packages almost daily, I think that says a lot). Anyhow, I have wonderful and thoughtful friends. Thank you, Sally and Anissa!

A few weeks ago, John made an offer I couldn’t refuse — he offered to cook for me on my birthday.  The last (and only!) time John cooked for me was February 23, 2005 – the day we got engaged! As an incredibly busy professional, John doesn’t have the time or inclination to cook for either of us. Needless to say, seeing him in the kitchen was quite a treat.

After setting out an olive appetizer, John prepared an arugula salad with tomatoes and fresh Mozzarella.

For our entrée, John made a fresh arrabiata sauce and served it atop fresh gluten-free pasta.

Everything was delicious. John did a fantastic job!  For dessert, we shared gluten-free cupcakes (shown above) from Crave. Swoon!

From wonderful birthday wishes from friends to sweet gestures from my husband, I had a really brilliant 33rd birthday! I can’t wait to continue the celebration with my family later this month.

4 thoughts on “Turning 33!

  1. Mattie I. Mcdowell says:

    Last night I made paella (pictured at left) for my husband’s birthday dinner. Paella is one of those wonderful meals that just happens to be naturally gluten-free. Just make sure that the stock that you are using is GF.

Leave a Reply

