Green Chile Chicken Casserole

After spending the week traveling for work, I am exhausted. Truly. Additionally, after eating out for every meal this week, I was more than ready for a home-cooked meal tonight. Considering I am still not over my love affair with green chiles…Green Chile Chicken Casserole was on tonight’s menu.

Green Chile Chicken Casserole*

  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup chopped green chilies
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup light sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
  • 1 can condensed cream of chicken soup (I used a GF variety)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 12 corn tortillas
  • 2 cups shredded cooked chicken breasts (about 1/2 pound)
  • 2 cups finely shredded low-fat cheese  (I used a Cheddar and Colby mix)

Heat oven to 350°F and coat a small baking dish with cooking spray (I used a round dish, but any shape will do). In a large sauce pan, combine broth, chilies, onion, sour cream, salt, cumin, pepper, soup and garlic. Bring mixture to a boil, stirring constantly. Remove from heat and spread 1 cup of the mixture in the dish. Arrange 5 or 6 tortillas over the soup mixture (breaking to fit dish) and top with 1 cup chicken and 1/2 cup cheese. Repeat layers, ending with cheese.

Bake uncovered for 30 minutes or until bubbly. Enjoy!

Since I have a running date with Julie in the (early) morning, I am heading to bed. Good Night!

*Variation of my Green Chile Chicken Enchilada recipe

Leave a Reply

