48 Hours in Santa Fe

John and I just returned from a relaxing weekend in Santa Fe, New Mexico. Even though it is a place I visit often for professional obligations, I am always ready to visit for a long weekend.

Thanks to a last-minute change in his schedule, John and I were able to sneak out on the early afternoon flight to Albuquerque, then made the quick drive to Santa Fe. We made it to our hotel, the Inn and Spa at Loretto, just in time for the coverage of the 2012 Olympic Opening Ceremonies. To make our evening even more casual and relaxing, we ordered in from Uppercrust.

Oh, Uppercrust. Even though gluten is not a part of my diet, I just had to have a bit of this green chile pizza. Because I have a death wish, I dunked my pizza in red chile. Culinary perfection! I know there are varying perspectives about the Opening Ceremonies, but I was actually a fan! Sure it was slow at times, but there were many memorable parts, including the appearance of many celebrities/dignitaries, the parade of countries and the lighting of the torch.

We woke up Saturday and hit the gym before dining at Luminaria, the hotel’s restaurant. I am not sure what we were more excited about — the food or dining al fresco!

We spent the rest of the day shopping in the Plaza, lounging, watching the Olympics and having lunch at The Shed.  Good Times!

We went to dinner at my favorite restaurant in Santa Fe — Geronimo. We had a leisurely dinner before heading out the Opera. Over the course of two hours (hey, I said it was leisurely!), I had glasses of rose, a prosciutto and cherry salad, elk tenderloin and a flourless chocolate cake. Divine! Although I probably could have gone directly to bed at this point, we made our way to the Opera. We saw a production of Arabella and it was incredible. With a run time of 3 hours, I loved every minute of it.

Today, we had breakfast at Cafe Pasqual’s post workouts and had a leisurely morning that included Olympic viewing. Gosh, I just love the Olympics! Early afternoon, we made the quick drive back to Albuquerque and caught a flight back to Houston. Although it was only 48 hours, we really enjoyed our trip to Santa Fe!

One thought on “48 Hours in Santa Fe

Leave a Reply

