Zihua – 7/3

My Tuesday morning began with another barefoot 2 miler on the beach.  Afterwards, I joined the family for breakfast on the terrace. In addition to the usual fruit plate, John and I also shared an order of eggs with bacon and sides of chilaquiles and refried black beans. Super tasty!

Later, some of us headed into town for some shopping.  My parents and I did some browsing around a  few downtown shops and ended up at my favorite store (again)!  I love Metztli!

Metztli’s specialty is handmade clothing. Not only are they beautiful, but I find the clothes are of great quality. I picked up a dress and bought one for my Mom too. Afterwards, we went by Sta. Maria Guadalupe (again) to enjoy the serenity and peacefulness of the church.

After some laying out at the hotel, John and I enjoyed a poolside lunch. I went with my now-standard tortilla soup and guacamole order.  What? When in Mexico…

We spent the rest of the afternoon laying by the pool – sleeping, reading, listening to music, swimming and relaxing.  For dinner, we kept things super low-key and John and I took my parents back to Il Mare for dinner. Yes, again! John and I shared an order of minestrone soup and I had the penne arrabiata for my entree. Both were absolutely fantastic.

I must say that the food at il Mare has been wonderfully delicious and consistent since we began visiting the restaurant in 2004. The sunset views have always been pretty amazing too!

 After dinner, we walked the short distance back to the hotel.  We tend to do a lot of walking while on vacation and I always love this element of a trip. Not only does it aid with digestion(!), it is a nice way to relax after a meal and to spend time exploring an area.

Leave a Reply

