Sunday Funday (Punta Mita Style)

John and I slept like logs on Saturday night and we were up and at ’em early Sunday. We spent some time in the gym together to begin the day.  The gym, I might add, was very nice. Notice the cold towels in the fridge? Very nice touch!

Plenty of cardio machines, free weights, kettle bells, balance balls, as well as dressing areas and a spin room. When breakfast rolled around, I decided to keep it simple and ordered a tall green juice.

We spent the rest of the day lounging on the beach. We read, swam, laughed, chatted and napped.

Oh…and we also ate! For lunch I ended up ordering tortilla soup and ate it beachside (on a silver platter!). I also asked one of the beach butlers if the hotel had heard of a “Miami Vice” (remember this from LA?) and he responded “Andale!” Within 5 minutes I had my very own “Miami Vice.” Gosh, I love great customer service!

In the afternoon, John and I went to the Remede Spa for massages.  The ambiance, decor and offerings at the spa were incredible – modern, peaceful and relaxing. However, as much as it pains me to say this, the services themselves were lacking.  My treatment was so underwhelming that I ended up ending it after 15 minutes.  To make a long story short, my therapist ended up dousing me in oil and lotion a la the Exxon Valdez incident. It was disgusting and not pleasant in any way, shape or form.  I didn’t let that ruin my day or trip. Instead I just went back to the room and lounged on our terrace. NBD. For dinner, John and I returned to the SeaBreeze Restaurant) and dined al fresco. The restaurant was quiet and it was nice to relax and enjoy another nice meal.

We ended up sharing a Caprese salad and chocolate dessert (surprise, surprise) and I ordered the spicy shrimp tagliatele (again!) for my entree. I also had two of these babies — pomegranate ginger margaritas. So good! While we were dining, Busy Philips (the actress from Cougar Town and Dawson’s Creek) and two of her friends were sat next to us. She and her friends were having a girls getaway and ended up staying in a room next to ours.  Nothing salacious to report — she seemed nice and she and her friends seemed to be enjoying themselves.  John and I ended our evening by taking a nice relaxing stroll of the hotel property. Note to self: take more walks.

One thought on “Sunday Funday (Punta Mita Style)

Leave a Reply

