Saturday on the Beach

I slept for 9 glorious hours before the rain temporarily woke me up on Saturday morning. No worries, I was able to fall asleep again. If you’re counting, that’s 11 hours of sleeping time. Unheard of for an Arnold! We enjoyed a nice breakfast in our room to kick off our Saturday.

We shared a fruit plate and I also enjoyed a plate of eggs con chorizo and refried beans. Breakfast of champions. I also had a nice big glass of “green juice” to add some veggie/fruit action to my diet. Everything, including the presentation, was wonderful. Afterwards, we made our way to the adult pool area where we set up a lounge space by the beach.

I really appreciated the fact that the hotel has an adult-only area.  I love kids, but I don’t necessarily relax when they are screaming and carrying on right by me, especially if they are unsupervised. I always worry that someone is going to get hurt or accidentally drown, therefore putting me in high alert mode instead of relaxation mode. I am sure some of this perspective will change when I have kids, but for now I appreciate the selfish luxury of being able to focus on nothing when I vacation.  And that’s exactly what I did for the majority of the day – nothing. I read and watched a few shows on my iPad, but mostly I just relaxed and talked to John.

When lunchtime rolled around, we decided to enjoy our lonche (almuerzo, for you fancy folks) beach-side. What a treat!

We shared guacamole, salsa, fish tacos and chicken nachos.  I also had a nice, tall Coca-Light.  I swear, these taste very different in Mexico! After six hours by the beach, we adjourned to our room. John watched soccer games and I read on our terrace. Good Times. Later in the afternoon, I went to the gym and ran four miles. Yes, I run on vacation…and I love it. It’s all about balance for me.

We ate at the hotel’s Carolina Restaurant for dinner. Carolina’s is considered the “nice” restaurant on the property, but I’d call it “NICE!” The restaurant is pretty glamorous with chic furniture, modern decor and great views of the property. To boot, the staff rolled out the red carpet for us.

We ended up having an over-the-top multi-course dinner: tasting appetizers, a lamb amuse bouche, a (shared) goat cheese appetizer, an out-of-this world steak and potato entree, a (shared) chocolate dessert sampler, and a gracious gift of homemade macaroons (we had to package these “to go” — we were too full!).

Everything was fabulous, including my spicy margarita!

Once we got back to the room we discovered that hotel staff had decorated our suite for our anniversary. So sweet and fun! My favorite part of the decor was this elaborate towel swan creation.

I’d show you more pictures but only if you promise to drink two huge margaritas beforehand (otherwise it won’t be funny!).

2 thoughts on “Saturday on the Beach

  1. Jenny Murff says:

    The drinks do taste different in different countries. Have you ever been to the Coke factory in GA? They have a tasting room with all different drinks. Pretty neat if you’ve never been. And I can only imagine the “other” pictures. 😉

Leave a Reply

