Doubling Down

Despite a very late night (well, late for us!), we were both up early on Saturday and made our way to the gym for workouts. I know some people don’t like exercising on vacation, bit we sure do. Anyhow, after a light breakfast in our room, we set out for Mandalay Bay.  We heard really good things about Burger Bar and couldn’t wait to try it our for ourselves. Located in a shabby mall (compared to the rest of the glitzy Strip), Burger Bar is quite the gem! The menu is pretty extensive and features build your own burgers. I ordered a bun-less buffalo burger with provolone cheese and Dijon mustard on the side. I also had an order of skinny fries. The verdict? Very tasty!

After lunch, John and I explored the Aria Hotel, City Center and Crystals Las Vegas.Talk about extravagant shopping options! We also walked the entire way — covering more than 4 miles.  Good thing I packed my comfortable boots! We also spent some time at the recently opened Mob Museum.  If you aren’t aware, I am an avid true crime reader and have always had an interest in organized crime. So, checking out the new museum was a natural for me. Although the museum was crowded, it was very interesting and full of interesting information and exhibits.

We spent the rest of the afternoon catching up on work and napping in our hotel room. In the evening, we went over to the Palazzo for dinner at CUT. CUT is a Wolfgang Puck steakhouse and it was amazing. Admittedly, I am not much of a steak eater, but I relished the melt-in-your-mouth steak I ordered.The restaurant served our steaks with a few house-made mustards on the side.  It sounds weird (at least it did to us), but it was delicious.  I also enjoyed the whipped potatoes and steamed spinach.  Far better than anything I have cooked! The decor at CUT is very sleek and minimal, although it lends to a very noisy dining experience.  Ah well, the food spoke for itself! And if you made it to the end of this point you should get the double down reference (if you don’t, we ate TWO beefy meals in one day!). Yes, we’re gross! :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

