Tomato-Basil Soup

Last night, I had the pleasure of hosting Blanca for dinner.  Given our upcoming trip to China, I stayed away from Asian fare and went straight to comfort food — tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwiches.  For the soup, I referenced this Tomato-Basil Soup recipe from Cooking Light, but, as usual, made a few changes (including cooking method).

Slow Cooker Tomato-Basil Soup

  • 1/2 cup sliced onion
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 3/4 cup chopped fresh basil
  • 1 (28-ounce) can fire-roasted diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1/2 cup (4 ounces) 1/3-less-fat cream cheese, cut into cubes
  • 2 cups skim milk
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 T. butter (optional)
  • Shredded Asiago cheese (optional, served on the side)

Add onion, garlic, basil, tomatoes, milk, cream cheese, salt, butter (if adding) and pepper to a crock pot. Cook on low for 3 hours.  Use immersion blender (or traditional blender) to bring soup to desired consistency. Top with cheese, then serve.

As I mentioned, I served the soup alongside grilled cheese sandwiches. While I went with GF bread, Blanca had a sourdough bread, and both of us had Havarti and Muenster for our cheese filling. Super tasty and easy to prepare. John (who gave up bread for Lent) was very jealous! Lucky for me there are leftovers, so soup is on for lunch!

2 thoughts on “Tomato-Basil Soup

  1. Blanca says:

    I promise this was the best meal I’ve had in a while and it was so simple and uncomplicated!!! I cannot wait to make it at my house. Thank you for your hospitality!!!!! I LOVE YOUR HOME!!!

Leave a Reply

