Potato, Pancetta & Broccoli Fritatta

It seems like I haven’t cooked a real dinner in weeks.  Just ask John! 😉 While it hasn’t been that long, I have been eager to get back into the kitchen for some experimenting.  While flying to Arkansas last week, I came across a recipe for a Potato, Ham and Spinach Frittata in Real Simple that looked incredible.  But, given Arnold household tastes and preferences, I knew I would be making a few adaptations. Tonight I had an opportunity to test things out. Ta-Da!

Potato, Pancetta & Broccoli Frittata (adapted from this recipe)

  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 small russet potatoes (about 3/4 pound), peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 9 large eggs
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 10 ounces chopped broccoli
  • 8 ounces 2% sharp Cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 4 ounces chopped pancetta

Heat oven to 400° F. Heat the oil in a large ovenproof nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add the potatoes and onion and cook, tossing occasionally, until the potatoes are tender, 12 to 15 minutes. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, ½ teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon pepper. Mix in the broccoli, cheese, and pancetta. Add the egg mixture to the skillet, stir once, and transfer the skillet to oven. Cook until the eggs are set, 12 to 14 minutes.

We served our fritatta alongside fresh fruit, but a side salad or vegetable would work well too.

We will be adding this into our rotation, perhaps even as brunch fare.  Let me know if you decide to make this and if you make any other adaptions. I’d love to hear your ideas!

2 thoughts on “Potato, Pancetta & Broccoli Fritatta

  1. Kate Smith says:

    Drool! You read my mind {or maybe I read your mind} with the brunch comment!! For some reason, jumbo lump crab meat sounds delicious added into the mix. Zeke isn’t much for broccoli, so I might sub that for spinach… and add some mushrooms. I’ll be making this one for sure!

    • MCA says:

      Please make it with crab and please tell me about it! Yummmmmm!!! I would even like it with Italian sausage after a long run! Holy Smokes – It’s time for another long run! 😉

Leave a Reply

