Happy (Belated) Chinese New Year!

After a great weekend, yesterday began with an early alarm…and a day trip to Oklahoma for work. I took an early morning flight to Oklahoma City and returned on a late afternoon flight. I crashed when I got home so I didn’t get a chance to post about the Chinese New Year last night.  But here goes nothing…

Happy (Belated) Chinese New Year — the Year of the Dragon! The Dragon is the luckiest sign in Chinese astrology.  In the year of the Dragon,  Chinese astrologers foresee a year of good luck, improved fortune…along with a baby boom! For the record, I am a Goat/Sheep (1979) and John is a Pig (1971). Fortunately, we are compatible signs! Whew! I guess we can stay together!

China has always intrigued me and has long been on my travel bucket list. I have always longed to see and climb the Great Wall of China, to see the rising towers of Shanghai and to immerse myself in a vastly different culture. Fortunately, I am getting my chance to cross this off my bucket list!

I will be traveling to China in March!!

I will be traveling with a group from the Greater Houston Partnership (my previous employer and fantastic advocacy organization — no bias here!) and am thrilled that Blanca and Jill will be fellow travelers on this adventure. We will travel to Beijing, Shanghai, Suzhou and Hangzhou over the course of 10 days.

Needless to say, I am thrilled and scared at the same time. I am doing a lot of research/reading up on China, and am open to any suggestions you may have about things I should read/review.

Over the next few weeks, I be sharing more details about trip. In the meantime, here are a few fast facts about China.

  • Formal name: People’s Republic of China (PRC)
  • Capital: Beijing
  • Land size: China has a landmass of 9,600,000 sq km, and is the third-largest country in the world, next only to Russia and Canada. Cultivated land is 130.04 million ha.
  • Population: China is the world’s most populous country with 1.28453 billion at the end of 2002, one-fifth of the world’s total.
  • Random: Ice cream was invented in China…along with a lot of other things!

Tonight I am attending our January Wine Club meeting.  Hopefully things wont get too crazy tonight because I have an early morning meeting in Austin tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Happy (Belated) Chinese New Year!

  1. Click. The Good News says:

    How very cool! The eyewitness guides are my favorite. I particularly like the Top 10- great layout /format.

    I always like to read a few fiction/memoir type of books to get a better historical sense of a place before traveling there, but I’m having a heck of a time finding anything for Patagonia! Maybe I’ll ready Eva Peron’s story….

  2. MCA says:

    Thanks for the tip! Quick question — do you have any experience using these guides on an iPad?

    Also, your trip to Patagonia sounds very cool!!

Leave a Reply

