2012 Aramco Houston 1/2 Marathon

What a wonderful day! :mrgreen:

The day began with a 5:00 AM wake-up call. I got dressed, put some turkey chili in the crock pot and Nelda and I drove downtown to meet Julie at the George R Brown Convention Center. The race was pretty uneventful — in a good way.  On one hand, the course was fun, the crowds were great and the race was well-organized. On the other hand, my side/stomach was throbbing the entire race. It was very uncomfortable, but not something that I couldn’t overcome or simply look past to complete today’s run. I was not going to allow myself to DNF and quit. I told myself that today wasn’t a PR day for me and I just needed to “hold on” and keep it together.  Job done! I finished in 2:10:45. Not my best time, but not too shabby! And, I was right – Nel smoked me (by 8 minutes or so), and she and Julie finished in 2:02:48. Julie even set a new PR! Here are Nel, Jul and me after the race!


Special thanks to everyone who came out to cheer on the runners. We appreciate you! Afterwards, everyone came over to our house to watch the Texans game. We prepared turkey chili, green chile queso, green chile guacamole, Helluva good dip and plenty of chips and crackers.

Julie brought over a few treats from Haven too. Shrimp boudin and deviled eggs!

Although the Texans lost, we had a good time watching the game and relaxing. Great season, Texans! After the game, everyone went home and John and I watched TV before tuning into E!s Golden Globes Red Carpet coverage (Expect a post on the dresses tomorrow!). We are watching the Globes telecast and it is starting to drag. Good Times! Heading to bed soon – I am exhausted! Today was such a great day. Hope yours was great too!

2 thoughts on “2012 Aramco Houston 1/2 Marathon

Leave a Reply

