Expo Time!

For me, one of the most fun events leading up to a race is the race expo.  I know some people think “if you’ve been to one, you’ve been to them all,” but not me.  I get excited every time I go to one.

Earlier today I went to the Chevron Houston Marathon Expo to pick up my packet for Sunday’s half marathon race.  I know, I know — being sick has left me in a delicate state, but I am feeling better and have decided to go ahead and run the race after all.  It’s not that I can’t run a half marathon (I just did one in December!), I just won’t be setting any kind of personal record on Sunday or pushing too hard.  As I told John, “don’t worry — I’ll go nice and easy.”  Anyhow, back to the Expo.

In my years of expo-ing, I found this year’s expo to be the best Houston has had since 2006.  It was full of interesting vendors, lots of giveaways and plenty of running merchandise for sale at reasonable prices.  I didn’t visit every booth, but still managed to assemble a pretty reasonable bag full of swag.

Since most of these snacks aren’t gluten-free, it looks like John will have some good munchies for his desk at work.  I also couldn’t resist buying extra running fuel.

All of these were on sale, so I actually saved money by buying these at the expo. I also purchased a new pair of my all-time favorite running socks from the Luke’s Locker booth.

I always have to run a race in a new pair. I know, I’m weird. I also came across the most adorable shoe charms that a woman lovingly makes by hand.  I know what you’re thinking – who needs shoe charms? – and the answer is “Me!.” And, apparently my sisters need these too because I bought these for us.

Cute, no? There are a ton of charms that aren’t on the website, but are at her booth.  Check it out!  As I previously mentioned, I really went to the Expo to pick up my race packet.  And, um, check out my race bib.

I am not pregnant and I did not ask for it to be printed this way (for the record, I asked for “MrsArnold” to be printed).  Ah well, it can’t be reprinted so I am stuck with it this way.  Maybe my Mom was in charge of the printing! Ha! :mrgreen: If you get a chance, attend the Expo this weekend.  It is free and open to the public.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Expo Time!

Leave a Reply

