Rough Start..

I drove into Austin last night and plan to be here through mid-day tomorrow. Lots of work meetings on my calendar – good stuff.  Although I lived here for 8 years (1998-2006) and am familiar with the area allergens, lately I have had unusual reactions to them.  Unfortunately, today I experienced one of the worst flare-ups I have had in years.  I started the morning feeling okay, but things steadily went downhill.  I was in a large conference room (packed with people– naturally) and couldn’t stop coughing. Then sneezing.  Then the chills set in.  Then the headache. Sounds amazing, no? I quickly popped a few Day-Quil and went through an entire sleeve of cough drops before I began feeling a bit better.  After my meetings ended I drove over to the Hunter’s place and was greeted by Jager and Harriet.

Thanks for the warm welcome, friends! We got comfortable and all took a late afternoon nap. Ahhh! Before I knew it, two hours had passed and Nelda and Zach were home from work.  I felt a bit better after my nap, although my throat and head still hurt. Much to my delight, we all went to Torchy’s Tacos for dinner.

Torchy’s is the stuff of legend around these parts and I couldn’t wait to give it a go.  We started with the green chile queso and chips (spicy!) and I had a Republican taco (jalapeno sausage, pico and cheese) on a corn tortilla for my entrée.

Delicious! Houston is getting a Torchy’s and I am sure it will be a part of our restaurant rotation. Going to watch the Soup then head to bed. Good Night!

Leave a Reply

