Rocky Mountain High

I spent the last three days in Denver for a retreat/strategy meetings/planning sessions for my job. Although we experienced long days, we also enjoyed fun activities. Fortunately, I work on a team that really gets along, sincerely enjoys spending time together and values the “work hard, play hard” approach :mrgreen: As I mentioned earlier, we spent Tuesday afternoon biking around Denver and enjoyed a fun and casual team dinner. Yesterday, we enjoyed afternoon cocktails at our hotel’s 27th floor lounge. We shot the breeze over drinks and had this view as a backdrop.

Afterwards, we had another great team dinner — this time at an upscale restaurant with terrific Mexican food. Today was a half day mix of meetings and planning. Over these three days, I enjoyed morning outdoor runs and took to the paths on Cherry Creek and the Platt. It was glorious.

The shaded paths are divided so that wheels (bikes and roller blades) and feet (walkers and runners) have their own sides of the path. The sounds of running water plus scenic vistas of the Rocky Mountains provided a serene environment. When I travel I always strive to carve out a little “me” time. More often than not, this means an outdoor solo run.  With early AM starts and late PM endings (usually post dinner), it’s nice to spend time alone to think, reflect, plan and zone-out. It’s a bonus that my runs also burn calories and help tone my body! I arrived in Houston today in the early evening and headed home to re-pack. Then, John and I drove to San Antonio so that I can attend a conference, and then we can spend the weekend together in Austin. Needless to say, I am beat. Good Night!

Leave a Reply

