Rome – Day Two

We began our first day of vacation in Rome with an extended nap. We had planned to rest for an hour or so, but ended up sleeping for four hours. Oops. Clearly we needed the rest.  Afterwards, we did some exploring by the hotel (expect a full review and seperate hotel post later) and took in the Spanish Steps and some shopping along Via Condotti.

Check out my feet after three hours of sight-seeing?  Yuck!

Maybe this is why chic Italian women are still wearing boots from the Fall? Once we cleaned up, we went to dinner at Maccheroni. We visited Maccheroni twice in 2009 and couldn’t wait to eat there again.

It did not dissapoint.  I ordered the pasta e fagioli as my first course.

The squiggly things are fresh pasta. Holy Deliciousness! The beans were seasoned to perfection and the pasta was freshly made. For my entree, I ordered the Maccheroni Arrabiata. 

I ate this twice in 2009 and have been dreaming of it ever since.

The pasta is fresh and the sauce is light, yet very, very rich. Spicy, yet smooth.  I have never tasted anything like it.  Clearly, I am in lust with this dish! 😉 As if we didn’t eat enough already, we picked up some gelato during our evening stroll back to the hotel.

I had the chocolate amaretto gelato. Yes…Chocolate + Amaretto. I wanted to cry. Seriously. Can you tell what I am standing in front of? No?

It’s the Pantheon! We had previously visited during the day in 2009, but it was glorious at night. We also unexpectedly found ourselves in front of the Trevi Fountain.  Just like in 2009, we paid a visit to it on the first night of our trip.  And just like in 2009, I threw in a coin in the hopes of another return to Rome (hey – it seems to work for me!).

Our last visit was in August and there was hardly anyone in Rome.  This time, it is full on cray cray.  This is the Trevi Fountain at 10:oo PM.

I hate to say it, but damn you Disney & Las Vegas! Seriously — there are times when I feel like these places feel eerily similar to their faux counterparts in the US.  This makes me angry — I want to visit Europe and feel surprised, but feel like I have “already been” there.  Make sense? Anyhow, our first day in Rome was a wonderful way to begin our vacation.

5 thoughts on “Rome – Day Two

  1. Blanca says:

    Why doesn’t the pasta e fagioli look like REAL stuff I eat at Olive Garden?!??!?!? I don’t get it. 😉

    The food looks amazing…and the arrabiata sauce looks DIVINE!! Too bad you can’t bring a plate home!

  2. MCA says:

    Blanca, I think there are two keys — quality ingredients and lots of time. These dishes taste like they are fresh off the vine and cooked all day! Who has time for that? 🙂

  3. Blanca says:

    Are you saying OG isn’t quality?!??!?!?!?!?! I die.

    KIDDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am so jealous of all your meals. You know I was an Italian in a past life right?!?!?!??! I LOOOVE ITALIAN FOOD!

Leave a Reply

