Family Saturday

After somewhat of a tough night (I couldn’t sleep), I woke up early this morning and decided to go for a run. Since I didn’t know the area and we were in a hotel just off a highway, I hit the treadmill.

I did a  5 mile run and .25 mile cool down walk. I know some of you think that running while ill is cray cray, but I firmly believe in sweating out toxins.  Besides, the sheer accomplishment of running always makes me feel better. 😉 For breakfast, I ate a banana.

After about 90 minutes on the road, I decided that I needed a snack. John’s idea –> Let’s stop at Luling City Market.  Oh reeeeaaalllly? Well, I thought, why not? So we did.

After about a 15 minute wait in line, we finally ordered. We got a sausage ring and 1/4 pound of brisket for a snack (LOL!) and more sausage and brisket to share with family in Austin. Word has it that the Market sold out of BBQ before noon.  If you aren’t aware of Luling City Market – the BBQ is often considered to be some of the best in the state.

Once we arrived in Austin we met Nelda, Zach and my parents for lunch at Enoteca on South Congress. Enoteca and Vespaio, it’s sister restaurant, are two of my favorite places to eat in Austin.  We sat in the Wine Room and started off our meal with olives.

Then, I ordered the corn spaghetti with olive oil, basil and chile flakes. Yes bloggies, Enoteca has gluten-free options!

My lunch was delicious! After lunch, we walked off our meals by cruising South Congress. We popped into several stores and went by Hotel San Jose (we tried to get drinks, but the bar was closed).

We ended our walk by either getting ice cream from Amy’s or a drink from Joe’s (the family was split on what we wanted).  Nelda bought me a Guayaki Traditional Mate Tea and I was in heaven!  After a few hours in our hotel, we went over to Nelda and Zach’s for an evening of family time.

Nelda channeled her inner Martha Stewart and prepared a great salad, Cornish hens, green beans and corn.

Everything was delicious! For dessert, we had shortcake with fresh berries and fresh whipped cream from Whole Foods. Tasty!

Before I say good night, here are a few random facts:

  • Random Fact  #1: Nelda and I lived off South Congress for 2 years. I got engaged to John while we were living there and I eventually moved out to move in with John before the wedding.
  • Random Fact #2: Can you tell the difference in quality in some of the photos above? Some were taken with my paparazzi camera and the others with my Blackberry.  I can always tell the difference!

Good Night! :mrgreen:

One thought on “Family Saturday

Leave a Reply

