Randalls & SimpleNutrition

When Randalls reached out and asked me to experience their SimpleNutrition program, I couldn’t refuse.  Not only is Randalls our neighborhood grocery store, but I am always looking for ways to simplify my life.  Although I love to shop for groceries,  making weekly errands easier for John and me is a high priority given our busy schedules.  In the past few months I have shopped for groceries in the parts of town that have been closest to the airports or that have known gluten-free sections. However, after this weekend’s Randalls experience, John and I will be on the look-out for Randalls stores during our grocery trips.

The first question I had was, “What is SimpleNutrition?” In a nutshell, SimpleNutrition is a new ‘at the shelf’ program that simplifies and personalizes grocery shopping so that shoppers feel confident about making informed food choices. On the shelves, Randalls has placed labeling on products to help shoppers make better food choices. For example,  SimpleNutrition has 22 labels/messages:

  • 4 labels/messages for lifestyle/dietary needs: Gluten Free, Organic, Natural, and also Calorie Smart
  • 18 labels/benefits with specific nutrition criteria: Made with Whole Grains, Good Source of Fiber, Fat Free, Sodium Smart, Low Saturated Fat, Low Fat, Sugar Free,  Good Source of Calcium, Good Source of Vitamin A, Good Source of Vitamin C, Good Source of Iron, 0g Trans Fat, 100% Juice, Low Cholesterol, Good Source of Antioxidants, Good Source of Potassium, Good Source of Folate, Lean Protein

As you might imagine, the gluten-free label is the one that I had my eye on yesterday. However, a combination of gluten-free, low-sodium and low-fat would be even better! And I am pleased to say that I found these combinations everywhere! :mrgreen: In the fruit/vegetable refrigerated case…

In the pasta aisle (Praise the Lord — there is gluten-free spaghetti sauce)….

In the snack aisle…

In the canned foods aisle…

In the prepared food aisle…

And even in the frozen food aisle!

As someone who struggles with finding foods that I can eat, SimpleNutrition is a fabulous new addition to my life! Because I send John to the store frequently, I know he will LOVE it too!  No more obessing over labels and trying to determine if an item is gluten-free. Thank you, Randalls! To thank me for reviewing SimpleNutrition, Randalls sent me two (2) $25 Randalls gift cards and I am passing them on to you!  Please leave me a comment and let me know what you think about SimpleNutrition and how it might help you and I will randomly chose 2 winners.  Please leave your comment by Thursday at 9PM and I will announce the 2 winners on Friday!  Good Luck!

6 thoughts on “Randalls & SimpleNutrition

  1. barbara parker says:

    I LOVE the labels. I now know the nutritional value, the ingredients, etc and can plan for my family’s meals knowing that I can buy products and check the nutritional values at a glance.

  2. Shundea says:

    Living on the boarder between Alief and Stafford, my only grocery store choice is the Randall’s in Stafford (You can’t pay me to shop at Food Town!!). I can’t say that I’ve seen the labels in my store, mainly because I go into the grocery store with a very detailed list and tunnel vision.

    I think they are great! Option get a little stale when you are trying to feed a diabetic, hypertensive male and pre-schooler while tryingto follow your own meal plan. I might pick up something that we’ve been missing out on!

  3. Blanca says:

    I think this is awesome!!! What a neat way to make things easier for shoppers. Since I’ve started Weight Watchers, this would be great for me too.

    Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

